Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    pcormier's Avatar
    pcormier is offline Member of Southwest Group
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    CO
    Posts
    88
    Downloads
    59
    Uploads
    0

    Subjective Softronic software-only review... (long-ish)

    I recently purchased the Softronicicon software for my 30,000-mile old 2006 Cayman S during Softronic's awesome winter special. I did no objective testing, this is all seat-of-the-pants subjective impressions.

    Summary:
    I am very happy with the software. I would do it again without hesitation. Faster, smoother, more responsive, what I would've expected Porsche to deliver from the beginning.

    A little about me first:
    I live at 6,100 feet elevation, we only get 91 octane gas here. The Cayman is my daily driver, sun, rain, snow and ice. I've owned it for two years, and 10,000 miles. I'm 40-ish years old and have spent quite a bit of time AutoXing a Honda CRX Si years ago, and have been to several AutoXs with the Cayman. I used to work for a Dynamometer company. I do most of the work on my cars and motorcycles. My last car was a '98 Audi A4 1.8t with Apr software and Miltek catback exhaust.

    Options:
    93-octane: Since I'm at high elevation, normally-aspirated cars can usually get away with much more timing. I chose the 93 octane software, rather than the 91.
    Sport mode: Turn sport mode on permanently. I don't have Sport Chrono.
    Left-foot-braking fix: Keeps the ECU from killing throttle if it sees the brake is applied.

    Performance: I didn't expect much here. Certainly nothing like what I would expect on a turbo car where the boost can be turned up considerably. However, I was surprised to notice that the car accelerates a bit faster. If all the software did for me was increase the power and torque, I probably wouldn't have spent the money. Fortunately, it does more...

    Driveability: This is where the software shines. Combined with the Sport mode, I have found shifting and rev-matching to be much better. I really like the lower intrusion level of the PSM with sport mode. Around town it is perfect. It allows a little more wheel spin out of corners. It even works better in loose gravel (my uphill driveway) and in snow. I haven't been to an AutoX yet, but I would probably still turn PSM off for that type of event. The software has really smoothed out most of the changes that the computer and mechanicals make when adjusting intake cam-phase, switching cam lobes and changing the intake manifold volume. Reving the car from 2,000 to 7,000 rpm is much smoother with constant throttle. It also pulls a little harder right around redline since the software removes the soft rev limiter. I haven't hit the hard one yet, and generally try to avoid reving past 7,000 rpm.

    Installation: Following directions, it was easy to install (with a battery charger, not maintainer). Make sure you include all the requested information when you read the stock software and submit it. Scott returned the tuned software very rapidly.

    Problems: None. No pinging, at least in the winter.
    Last edited by pcormier; 01-24-2010 at 07:05 PM. Reason: mispelling, added remove soft rev limiter.

  2. #2
    K-Man S's Avatar
    K-Man S is offline Admin & Founder

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Overland Park, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    29,785
    Images
    4167
    Downloads
    252
    Uploads
    117
    Blog Entries
    14
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: KenDude

    Re: Subjective Softronic software-only review... (long-ish)

    Always good to hear from you! Thanks for the review!

  3. #3
    Jayman's Avatar
    Jayman is offline Porsche Specialist
    500 post club
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    555
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Subjective Softronic software-only review... (long-ish)

    I would like to add that Scott (Softronics) has done his first Gen 2 Cayman S which included the plenum/intake upgrade and software flash. Scott told me that just the hardware upgrade alone accounted for about 20HP/20ftlb on the DFI motor with an additional 10Hp/10ftlb from the flash. Hopefully he will post the dyno results here for all to see.


    I was only able to drive my 09 Cayman S for a short time this morning before I cleaned it up and put it away for the rest of the Winter and I hadn't driven my car in two months so I'm going from memory but it seems to pull much harder and smoother from 3.5k right up to 6.5k rpm where I let up due to Winter road conditions. It reminded me a lot of my Volvo S60R, which was turbocharged, the way it would just keep pulling harder and harder the higher the revs got. The dyno says about 30ft/lbs of torque more and it certainly feels like.

    I don't think the 997's and GT3's will be pulling away from me on the front straight at Lime Rock like they used to.They're going to have to work for it now.

  4. #4
    4by4's Avatar
    4by4 is offline Crusin worlds most isolated city
    3,000 post club
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    down-under
    Posts
    3,501
    Images
    37
    Downloads
    39
    Uploads
    2
    Blog Entries
    8

    Re: Subjective Softronic software-only review... (long-ish)

    Quote Originally Posted by Jayman View Post
    I would like to add that Scott (Softronics) has done his first Gen 2 Cayman S which included the plenum/intake upgrade and software flash. Scott told me that just the hardware upgrade alone accounted for about 20HP/20ftlb on the DFI motor with an additional 10Hp/10ftlb from the flash. Hopefully he will post the dyno results here for all to see.


    I was only able to drive my 09 Cayman S for a short time this morning before I cleaned it up and put it away for the rest of the Winter and I hadn't driven my car in two months so I'm going from memory but it seems to pull much harder and smoother from 3.5k right up to 6.5k rpm where I let up due to Winter road conditions. It reminded me a lot of my Volvo S60R, which was turbocharged, the way it would just keep pulling harder and harder the higher the revs got. The dyno says about 30ft/lbs of torque more and it certainly feels like.

    I don't think the 997's and GT3's will be pulling away from me on the front straight at Lime Rock like they used to.They're going to have to work for it now.
    Good news that he's still working on the Plenum for DFI . I'll be interested in that for sure. Can wait to "fix" my stock 2010 car cause it feels a bit soggy and is slower than my flashed / tuned 06 car.
    2010 Cayman S, special build.

  5. #5
    AKA WANI's Avatar
    AKA WANI is offline Porsche Purist
    1,000 post club
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    HAWAII
    Posts
    1,450
    Images
    30
    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Subjective Softronic software-only review... (long-ish)

    Great write up to the op!
    I've received my tune, and after testing it, I've noticed quicker acceleration of the line as well.

  6. #6
    PistolPete's Avatar
    PistolPete is offline Super Mod
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    11,391
    Images
    5262
    Downloads
    74
    Uploads
    1
    Blog Entries
    5

    Re: Subjective Softronic software-only review... (long-ish)

    We had an open house event with the Hairy Dog Garage and Scott this past weekend. I have some photos of the 987.2 SRPicon hardware. Head on over to the Nor'Easter section to check them out.
    Pete
    2008 Meteor Grey Cayman S
    2007 Blue Slate Infiniti G35s 6-speed

  7. #7
    DrKareem's Avatar
    DrKareem is offline Porsche Orator 1,000 post club
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    1,646
    Images
    1
    Downloads
    12
    Uploads
    0
    Items for Sale
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: kareem330

    Re: Subjective Softronic software-only review... (long-ish)

    Thanks for the review.

    Can't wait for their DFI package.. I will buy that in an instant.
    2010 Porsche Cayman S PDK

  8. #8
    kirv is offline Porsche Chatter
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    10
    Downloads
    10
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Subjective Softronic software-only review... (long-ish)

    I just flashed my 06 CS (stock, no mods, no sport mode) with a 93 oct / sport mode Softronicicon file, and had a 10 minute test drive.

    Rev matching is definitely better, the stock throttle seemed so sluggish to respond to throttle 'blips', much better now.
    I didn't get to drive too much yet, but the initial impression is a 'quicker' throttle, and bit more power throughout the rpm range.
    After more driving, I'll update my impressions about power/drivability. I'm most interested in feeling if the 'flat spot' in the power curve at 2 - 3k RPM is gone or at least improved.

    PS I definitely agree with pcormier about turbos and tuning, I have a COBB stg 2 flash/exhaust on my Subaru STi, and it is VERY noticable (300HP/300TQ untuned, 350 HP/385 TQ tuned, at crank). It's amazing what turning up boost a couple psi and a few hundred rpm earlier will do to wake up a turbocharged car.

  9. #9
    Methos's Avatar
    Methos is offline Porsche Activist
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    NV
    Posts
    426
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Subjective Softronic software-only review... (long-ish)

    Glad you're enjoying it.

    Let us know how it does in the summer with the 91 octane gas.

    My GTI is chipped for 91+ I think, but on 91 pump gas it pings here in Vegas at 2000' when the car is hot and ambient temperature is over 105 (ie, all summer)


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •