Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Son2Play4Giants's Avatar
    Son2Play4Giants is offline Porsche Prophet
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    69
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0

    TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    Hello: I have done some research but didn't find the specific issue I'm facing. However, it could be very similar to other posts. The TPMS reads that my driver side rear tire needs 4lbs of pressure. When I went to add air, I found that I was inflating to near 38 lbs at that point. So, instead, I deflated the 4 I added and deflated even more. Sure enough, the warning light went away. This was last weekend.

    This morning, same warning light, same message. This is the first time it's happened to me since taking ownership in late March; 2007 BC. I have mismatching tires from the front and rear (I KNOW THAT'S AN ISSUE!!!) but they are all new; sports up front and all weather in the rear. Could that be part of the problem? Any other thoughts?? Thank you all for your helpful comments.
    formerly majeromero


  2. #2
    ChipB's Avatar
    ChipB is offline Porsche Activist
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    261
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    Some thoughts:

    1. What size and type of tire have you told TPMS that you have? IIRC the system expects you to tell it whether you have either 18 inch or 19 inch summers, and so perhaps your all-seasons may be confusing it.
    2. Perhaps the battery in the TPMS sensor of that one tire is going bad? Or maybe the sensor is just not working well and needs to replaced.
    3. You might try swapping the rear tires and see if the warning message now comes for the passenger side rear.

  3. #3
    gfspencer's Avatar
    gfspencer is offline Site Upgrade Donor
    3,000 post club
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    NC/CA
    Posts
    3,941
    Downloads
    10
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    Quote Originally Posted by Son2Play4Giants View Post
    I have sports up front and all weather in the rear. Could that be part of the problem?
    Yes, that probably is the problem. You need to tell the system what kind of tires you are using - sports or all weather. You are probably "confusing" the system.
    2014 Cayman S
    2014 Mercedes ML350
    2013 Triumph Scrambler
    2015 BMW R nineT

  4. #4
    husker boxster is online now Porsche Specialist 500 post club
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    682
    Images
    1
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    I'm not a technician and I don't play one on TV but here's my opinion on your TPMS based on my experience. The system could care less what kind of tires you have on the car. The sensors send a signal to the computer which includes an identifier for each sensor. When the sensor changes, the system says "hey, the new signal ID doesn't match what I'm suspposed to be receiving", so it asks if these are summer or winter tiresicon. If you have summers that you're changing out for winters, the system then "registers" the sensor IDs for the winters. So it doesn't care if you have summers on front and all seasons on the rear (you should, however).

    I have a somewhat similar issue to yours on my Cayman. When a tire is low and the signal is sent, it won't go away when I fill the tire to the proper pressure. So I have to over-fill by 4-5 lbs and drive like that for a day. The low signal goes away and I can then set it to the proper pressure. My LE doesn't have this issue - I fill to the proper pressure and it's good.

    Your car is also 5+ yrs old so the sensors could also be getting low on juice. If one goes out, you'll get a msg about no signal and a flashing dash light.

    So what does March; 2007 BC mean (the BC)?

    2008 Boxster S Limited Edition #005
    2007 Cayman S - SOLD Valentine's Day 2013
    2008 Cayman S Sport

  5. #5
    Son2Play4Giants's Avatar
    Son2Play4Giants is offline Porsche Prophet
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    69
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    Quote Originally Posted by husker boxster View Post
    I'm not a technician and I don't play one on TV but here's my opinion on your TPMS based on my experience. The system could care less what kind of tires you have on the car. The sensors send a signal to the computer which includes an identifier for each sensor. When the sensor changes, the system says "hey, the new signal ID doesn't match what I'm suspposed to be receiving", so it asks if these are summer or winter tiresicon. If you have summers that you're changing out for winters, the system then "registers" the sensor IDs for the winters. So it doesn't care if you have summers on front and all seasons on the rear (you should, however).

    I have a somewhat similar issue to yours on my Cayman. When a tire is low and the signal is sent, it won't go away when I fill the tire to the proper pressure. So I have to over-fill by 4-5 lbs and drive like that for a day. The low signal goes away and I can then set it to the proper pressure. My LE doesn't have this issue - I fill to the proper pressure and it's good.

    Your car is also 5+ yrs old so the sensors could also be getting low on juice. If one goes out, you'll get a msg about no signal and a flashing dash light.

    So what does March; 2007 BC mean (the BC)?
    Thanks, Husker Boxster. I appreciate the response. I'm in the process of shopping for some new rear/matching tires. I'm going with the Continental contisports3 which are on the front. BTW, BC: base cayman.
    formerly majeromero

  6. #6
    MrArmyAnt is offline Porsche Prophet
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    56
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    I'm having the same problems, except for a while it was saying all were low. The funny thing is, my car also actively monitors the tire pressure, and reads the same pressure on front right and left and rear right and left, yet says front right is 4 psi lower. Any ideas?

  7. #7
    jman's Avatar
    jman is offline Porsche Specialist 500 post club
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    625
    Images
    9
    Downloads
    21
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    Mine is doing the same thing. One screen is reading all pressures are equal in the rear and the other screen says add 3lbs to the left rear. I just drove around and they seem to have equalized
    2010 Cayman S, Arctic Silver, 6speed, FVD "sound" exhaust, short shifter, sport bucket seats, R suspension, full leather, SC, xenons, Bose, Boxter Spyder 19's, multifunction wheel, guards red seatbelts, painted caps, universal audio interface, floor mats

  8. #8
    mmakay's Avatar
    mmakay is online now Porsche Chatter
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    49
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    I've had the same problem for the last week or so. The car is unhappy with my right rear regardless that all 4 are equal.

  9. #9
    drPhilGandini's Avatar
    drPhilGandini is offline Cayman GTS ordered...Dec delivery
    1,000 post club
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    1,116
    Images
    84
    Downloads
    18
    Uploads
    0
    My Classifieds

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    As those who follow TPMS threads may know, I've had my share of problems, and now have two sets of wheels with new sensors. Even with new sensors I sometimes get a low warning, and I think I know why. Let's see if this flies...
    I park in a large parking structure so that for about 8hrs a day there are 5 other cars quite close to mine. It's possible that some of the newer cars will have sensors that transmit on a similar frequency (there are only a few frequencies used by TPMS units.) There's one car in particular that seems to trigger the low pressure warning on my car when it parks close by. I get the warning on startup, and reset the system. It goes into learning mode and within 10 miles all is OK. It's a pain, but it happens every now and then.
    dr Phil Gandini
    web: http://www.philipganderton.com

  10. #10
    husker boxster is online now Porsche Specialist 500 post club
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    682
    Images
    1
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    Quite plausible. I got a nail in a tire on my Box last fall so I took it off and threw it into the back of the Cayman. It wasn't more than 2 blks on the way to the tire store when my TMPS was sending msgs about not operating. It was confused by all the signals it was receiving.

    2008 Boxster S Limited Edition #005
    2007 Cayman S - SOLD Valentine's Day 2013
    2008 Cayman S Sport

  11. #11
    MrArmyAnt is offline Porsche Prophet
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    56
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    Mine just reads low all the time. I follow the on screen PSI indicators anyway, I wish I could get that stupid system to be ignored as far as alerting me of a flat.

  12. #12
    carreraken's Avatar
    carreraken is offline PCA member since 1998
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Grass Valley, CA
    Posts
    280
    Images
    11
    Downloads
    34
    Uploads
    0
    My Classifieds

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    ever since I installed new beru sensors a few months back, my tpms reads 3 lbs low - at all corners.
    2006 Cayman S
    1985 911 Targa - gone back to Germany
    1973.5 911T - long gone
    Founder: ncPOG - nevada county Porsche Owners Group est. 2005

  13. #13
    CS Blues's Avatar
    CS Blues is offline Site Donor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    197
    Images
    1
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    0
    My Classifieds

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    My TPMS had readings that were always about 3-4 lbs. lower than actual. Since I replaced the old TPMS with a new set, the readings are agin 3-4 lbs. lower than actual. Also in both cases, the passenger front readings are consistently 2 lbs. lower than the others.
    07 Cayman S | dark blue | stone grey | PCM 2.1 | full leather | bi xenon | sports chrono | PASM | factory navigation | bose | bluetooth | sport shifter | 6-speed | sport steering wheel | Carrera S wheels | exhaust hack | clutch delay switch defeated | escort 9500ix | awe pedals | desnorked | radiator grill mesh | window tint | wheel spacers | red S |

  14. #14
    DocSteve's Avatar
    DocSteve is offline Porsche Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Grants Pass, OR
    Posts
    186
    Images
    3
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    Typically if the sensor is dead or dying it shows nothing just dashes. If you have a durametric cable you see the state of the sensors (it indicates how many months of expected power is left on each of the sensors - 95 when new) . If your showing values (ie 32lb) for each of the 4 wheels , reset the computer. This can be done with the durametric or by resetting it with the lower left hand lower stalk in the car. Be sure the tire size is correct etc and reset, then it takes up to 30 or so miles to reprogram (so go take a little ride). The warning should resolve during this period.
    If your sensor is shot be sure you get the correct one for your year and model (they vary and a few types were used some analog /newer digital) and they don't mix. Prices vary but $80 - 90 is the norm per sensor + install $20 per. If the problem is rear I'd replace both at the same time but the durametric cable gives a pretty good idea where they're at in real time. I hate this system but with a car w/ no spare it's a good thing I guess , just a fussy ,costly, system in my eyes but I check my pressure every month anyway and change tires before they are truly needed but **** happens. Also mix matching tires can throw off the PSM ( I know it happend to me). If the car acts weird after tire changes with another brand you may need to shut off the PSM to get it to drive correct or have all 4 tires the identical (it's a pretty sensitve system). Good luck..

  15. #15
    K-Man-sculpture.net's Avatar
    K-Man-sculpture.net is offline Porsche Purist 1,000 post club
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,221
    Images
    16
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    I've not had a problem with the system - but did replace all four oem sensors at 6 years along with new tires. Matched correct sensors the same manufacture/age with good batteries are likely key to consistent results.

    Although many people seem to dislike it or have had problems, the system has worked fine for me and probably saved me a rim or two.

  16. #16
    5500 is offline Site Upgrade Donor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    425
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    I like having a TPMS, but my car's system has been problematic as well. The car was built in March 2011 so I'm assuming the sending units have reasonably fresh batteries. My system correlates well with my accurate dial gauge (with both the original tires and my 1st set of replacements) This past w/e when I got a 4 lb low message for the LR. It was only 2 lb lower than the others. I filled it and the actual readings correlated, but the message didn't clear for 2 days. It cleared on its own, then reappeared within 25 miles even though there's been no change in pressure (both the system and my gauge are reading equal pressures all around). I didn't take note of what I was parked next to so perhaps its picking up signals from other vehicles. It is quite frustrating and I'm convinced its probably a quality control issue.
    (Never had a problem with my domestic sportscar over 3 years, 30K miles and 4 sets of tires with the same monitors).
    Ed
    "gatorade" R

  17. #17
    Dicket's Avatar
    Dicket is offline Porsche Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    115
    Downloads
    4
    Uploads
    0

    Re: TPMS- Tire Pressure (again)

    Maybe it is the season, but I've also had a consistent issue this past 3 weeks with my sensors. All 4 tires read 4 lbs lower than my hand tire gauge reads but like most of those on this thread, I have a warning that won't go away. It moved within minutes from the FR to RL, -4 lbs. I've reset the system many times and in the past this has certainly fixed the annoyance. But not this month. Maybe it is the battery life as my CS is an 06. Is there anyway to turn the system off maybe by pulling a fuse? I'm open to ideas and suggestions.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •