Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
  • NOTICE - Before adding photos to posts on Planet-9, please review: Posting Photos on Planet-9

Help !!! a plastic piece fall into engine while filling oil

60K views 35 replies 22 participants last post by  kareldeeley 
#1 · (Edited)
a plastic piece fall into engine while filling oil

Help, I was so stupid. I let the oil cap open and try to add some oil, a 1 inch long and 1/4 inch wide plastic piece on the bottol fall into engine through the oil hold.

what should i do now :eek:

I need any common will be helpful

thanks

#2 ·
Well; I would drain all oil from drain plug; see if object comes out. If its too large and doesn't come out; then I'd remove the filter and see if it comes out there. And if still no, then remove the oil pan and take it out of there... Ideally do all this without running the engine before. But I'm no engine mechanic...

#3 ·
I don't know where on the engine the filler tube goes but would remove the covers and find out. Then remove it where it attach's to the engine and check the tube. Hopefully it is in the tube. And check the hole in the engine for it. If it is not there then you will have to take the sump off. The procedure is in the how to install a deeper sump, maybe a good time to do that? Luckily its plastic, but I still would not start the engine.

#6 ·
So should I dirve? will it be fine with short distance? so that i can drive to goodyear autoshop.

wondering how much will it cost, and wondering the job that any autoshop will do.
people say, it will never be the same once you open it up and put it back in.

#8 · (Edited)
Hello tian6869,

After the piece of plastic fell into the filler, did you continue to add oil? It would be best if you hadn't however even if you did, the plastic is still most likely residing in the largely horizontal oil filler pipe.