SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 32,856
Articles 458
Reviews 1,227
Views 7,353,151

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« July 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
 



DSC03253.jpg
supersize














  • Pin It

Poster Info

Porsche Orator
Posts: 1,661
Registered: January 2007
Location: Maryland

 

ClearMask 3M Do it Yourself Headlight/foglight protection

Reviews Views Date of last review
7 35283 Sun December 25, 2011

 

Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.5

 

Description:
Difficulty rating from 1 to 5. This is a 2.5 with a little patience.

Tools you will need:
Protective Film (2 pieces 17"x17")
scrap paper- the same size
pen or pencil
paper towels
squeegee
microfiber cloth
spray bottle
Olfa blade
water,rubbing alcohol, clear dishwasing liquid

I purchased A ClearBra for my audi about 5yrs ago. Installed it myself. It came with extra film that said it was to make your own headlight kit. I held onto it for the future. You might be able to go to a local shop in your area and ask for scrap pieces, make sure you let them know you plan on using it for headlights It is a thicker mil. I see shops discard them as soon as the machine cuts the patterns.
** I contacted 3M about the extra film they included for the headlights. Spoke to Jim Seely he informed me that the film they included in my kit is for headlights. It is their Aeroguard film which is used on Airplane lights. It has the standard 5 year warranty against turning color, it is specifically for headlight so it is thicker.**

The best mix, I feel, for solution is to do 75% distilled water, 25% rubbing alcohol and a teaspoon of clear dishwashing liquid soap. Mix it up real good in the spray bottle.

What you want to do first is clean the lights with rubbing alcohol, I used paper towels. Make sure the surface is completely dry.

Place the piece of scrap paper over the headlight



use your nail to score the ouline of the headlight.



make sure you didnt move the paper while scoring it.



now use your pen or pencil to trace out the shape.



once you have the shape traced use the Olfa blade to cut it out.



now that you have it cut out lets check it on the car.



looks pretty good to me



now use the piece of paper as a guide over the film, make sure you have the clear side facing up. Now cut out the film using the olfa blade.



once you have it cut out lets check it on the car.



fits nicely. flip the scrap paper to make the pattern for the other side. make sure to cut the film with the clear part facing up. check it by peeling a tip off.



seperate the film using the blade carefully. once you have the tip of the blade in, turn the blade away from the film towards the white backing and cut a slit in the backing paper. this will make it easier to pull apart.



now pull it apart as you spray it with the mixed solution.



now spray the headlight alot. you may want to spray the film again before putting it on. solution should be dripping all over the place.



now place the film on the headlight. wiggle it so it is even on all sides. It is better to have it sitting a few mm from the bottom. this makes it easier to squeegee.



now while holding the opposite side squeegee the headlight from the longest tip to tip. continue to squeegee from the middle and go out



make sure you use your fingers to hold down the opposite side to prevent the film from moving.



once you pretty much have the thing down and all of the bubbles out we start the ends...



do not get frustrated these ends will pop up, you just have to hold them down with the squeegee.



it is a little annoying I know but they WILL stay down.

count to 40 while holding it down applying a good amount of pressure, 1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8.9...



ahhh there we go, all gone. repeat if necessary, it will be necessary.



use the microfiber cloth to clean the headlight and overspray on the car, washing the car afterwards is a good idea too.



you can see the space on the edges.



NOW lets do the foglights, our foglights arent perfectly round. remove the shrouds CAREFULLY they pop off, clean the lights with the rubbing alcohol and paper towels. use the scrap paper to score the shape. once you have them cut lets check it on the car.



cut the shape over the film and pull apart the film from the backing spraying it immediately. have the foglight sprayed as well.



spray it again right before applying to the foglight.



now place it on the light and begin to squeegee from the middle out. The foglights are not flat so the ends will pop up alot.



do not get frustrated this is a little more difficult than the headlights because they are not as flat, dont give up. hold it for 30 seconds if you have to, maybe even longer.



your almost done. you shouldn't have to but you might want to check your work and see if there are any "fingers" that have popped up on the edges of the headlights.
*If for any reason they need to be removed or replaced, 3M says it can be peeled off like a sticker. Any glue that is left over can be cleaned off using a terry/microfiber cloth and the same solution used to install it. basically the same process as the clear bra*



YOUR ALL done!!! you just saved $50-120 dollars!!! now go fill up your gas tank!!!



Yes I know my garage floor looks terrible. I am getting MUSCLEGLOSS floor epoxy, I am going with the red

Keywords: Headlight Foglight Protection Film

 

Author
K-Man S

Admin & Founder

Registered: August 2005
Location: Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Posts: 30128
Review Date: Mon March 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 
Pros: Good step by step description
Cons: Is this headlight film or not?
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
My problem with this article is that it appears you are using body film for the headlights instead of headlight film. If so, this is a problem.


1) Headlight film is thicker to handle the heat generated by the Xenons, body film may melt/disfigure over time.

2) Headlight film is optically clear, body film is not.

3) Headlight film doesn't yellow, body film does.


Please keep us informed as to how this film holds up over time as I'm concerned that body film should not be used for light film. That is what 3M and others have told me and the light film I have on my lights is thicker, etc. than body film. If the body film holds up long term then great, but I will be surprised if it does.

------------------------------

My Garage | My Gallery | My Articles | My Blog

K-Man S
This user is online
porsches4ed

Porsche Orator

Registered: January 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1661
Review Date: Mon March 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
** I contacted 3M about the extra film they included for the headlights. Spoke to Jim Seely he informed me that the film they included in my kit is for headlights. It is their Aeroguard film which is used on Airplane lights. It has the standard 5 year warranty against turning color, it is specifically for headlight so it is thicker.**

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Techart GT (X51)
RIP FASTCROC
2012 Panamera 4
2012 VW GTI 2.0T
2010 VW GTI 2.0T
2009 VW Touareg T2
2007 VW Passat 2.0T
2006 Techart Cayman GT
2002 ALMS Audi TT 225
2001 Audi A4 1.8TQ (RIP)
2001 VW Jetta 2.0
some people like the regular stock factory look, cool people modify the car.

http://www.planet-9.com/reviews/show...00&ppuser=3437
This user is offline
BlueBlast

Porsche Activist

Registered: September 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 322
Review Date: Tue March 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 
Pros:
Cons:
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
How did you remove the lower grill members first? Can you point to instructions for same? Thanks,
This user is offline
cjhaughney

Porsche Chatter

Registered: October 2006
Location: MD
Posts: 11
Review Date: Tue March 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
Question:


Some years from now, how would one remove the old film, hoprfully permitting the installation of a new replacement?


Charley
This user is offline
porsches4ed

Porsche Orator

Registered: January 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1661
Review Date: Wed January 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 
Pros:
Cons:
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
UPDATE= THIS HAS BEEN ON MY CAR FOR 10 MONTHS, NO PEELING, NO FADING.

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Techart GT (X51)
RIP FASTCROC
2012 Panamera 4
2012 VW GTI 2.0T
2010 VW GTI 2.0T
2009 VW Touareg T2
2007 VW Passat 2.0T
2006 Techart Cayman GT
2002 ALMS Audi TT 225
2001 Audi A4 1.8TQ (RIP)
2001 VW Jetta 2.0
some people like the regular stock factory look, cool people modify the car.

http://www.planet-9.com/reviews/show...00&ppuser=3437
This user is offline
EBMCS03
Porsche Activist

Registered: April 2006
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 291
Review Date: Sat January 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
Update on the thicker film for lights. 3M no longer make the 20mm thick film for lights people were having issues with over heating headlamps so they now use the same thin body film for lights.

------------------------------
2007 Cayman S 6spd | Midnight Blue | Stone Gray Interior | 35% sides 15% rear Suntek Carbon Tint | X-Pel Clear Bra
This user is offline
Page:  1 · 2


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.