SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 33,755
Articles 463
Reviews 1,249
Views 7,500,346

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« November 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
 



DSC08310.jpg
supersize

DSC08304.jpg
supersize













  • Pin It

Poster Info

Admin & Founder
Posts: 30,520
Registered: August 2005
Location: Overland Park, Kansas, United States

 

Wheel Wax Cleaning Your Wheels and Applying Wheel Wax

Reviews Views Date of last review
15 20969 Mon June 21, 2010

 

Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
87% of reviewers $18.00 8.0

 

Description:


I know a few others have done this but they didn't take pictures so I finally had a few minutes over lunch to pull a wheel off the car, thoroughly clean it and apply Wheel Wax all over to help keep the wheel clean.  Wheel Wax is available from our sponsor at http://www.wheelwax.com . I also used another one of their products called eXtreme Black on the tires. Let's start with a before photo:



Kind of dirty isn't it? I actually did a couple of test spots of Wheel Wax inside the wheel about a week prior to see how well it kept the dirt off. I think I captured one of those spots in a later photo. Here are the tools that I used, my 1/2 deep well padded socket from www.boothedesign.com Boothe Design, along with the tire mounting tool also from Boothe Design. I highly recommend both!


Before I jacked the car up, I made sure to loosen each lug bolt. I noticed something when jacking the car up this time and that is that my jack just barely slid under the jacking plate whereas before there was at least 1/4-1/2" of clearance so my car must have settled in a little since new, that or my tire pressure was lower.

Let's see some images of the backside of the wheel:

Do you see the one area on the wheel that is lighter in color in the photo above? That is the area that I applied Wheel Wax to previously. So while it didn't prevent brake droppings from getting on the wheel, it did generally keep the wheel cleaner and was easy to clean off. Here's a shot of the whole backside of the wheel. This dirt accumulated in only 1800 miles of driving.


Time to clean, for my cleaning purposes I use a product called Simple Green available at Wal-Mart and most similar stores. I am pretty sure that Simple Green will strip any existing wax so if you are just cleaning your wheels later but want to preserve the wax just use soap and water. I wanted to strip cosmoline and any other gunk that might be on the wheels. I also used a household scrub brush and the black brush you see in the next picture comes in the Porsche wheel cleaning kit which I've owned for a few years and I love this brush, made cleaning sport design wheels "tolerable".


Notice that I keep the wheel upright at all times. This is because it appears that the 18" standard wheels would scuff the ground in the center of the wheel if I turned them over, or at least come very close to it, so I didn't want to risk any wheel damage and thus kept the wheel upright at all times. So here is the back of the wheel cleaned with Simple Green:

Want to know who makes the 18" wheels for Porsche for the Cayman S? it is RONAL as shown in this close up of the backside of one of the wheel spokes. I checked the Ronal website and did not see these wheels listed, but I bet you could call them and ask.


So once you have cleaned off both sides of the wheel, time to rinse the Simple Green and grime away and dry the wheel with a towel before applying Wheel Wax.


Notice I was able to use my scrub brush as a nice little wheel stop to keep the tire from rolling down the driveway. Now it is time to apply Wheel Wax.
Applying Wheel Wax is similar to waxing a car with any typical paste wax. Use a soft cloth to apply.


The following picture is a close up of applying the Wheel Wax. Be sure to breathe deeply as this product smells great, ok not too deeply the lawyers are advising me to say.


Let the product haze up completely before buffing off.  It really didn't take very long in 65 degree weather for the product to haze, maybe 5 minutes. The product does leave a fair amount of dry product dust that you have to be sure to turn your towel frequently to get it all off the wheel, but that is typical of any paste wax system. Here is a picture of the finished wheel after removal of the Wheel Wax via hand buffing.


And the backside

Next mounting back on the car.
Mounting the wheel is pretty much the reverse of the removal procedure.  Simply slip the wheel over the mounting tool (also protects you from banging your brake caliper), and hand tighten the lug bolts.

Once all of the lug bolts are hand tight I remove the tool and screw in the 5th bolt then I take my ratchet and snug them a little. Next I lower the jack and get out the torque wrench to tighten each bolt down to 96 ft/lbs per the owner's manual in a star-5 pattern moving from bolt to bolt. Remove the jack and tools and here are some final after photos:


I almost failed to mention that I used a clean rag to apply the eXtreme Black product from Wheel Wax, simply pouring a little on the rag and wiping the tire down with it. The tire shines, but isn't greasy and so far it doesn't seem to be attracting dirt or splattering on my paint - both problems with a lot of other wheel black type products. I'll continue to monitor the performance of both products over the long term, but initially I was very pleased with the results for both.


1 down 3 to go! Total time with taking pictures was around an hour, but i wasn't in any hurry, I could certainly do it faster if I had to. Enjoy the article and don't forget if you do something to your Cayman, take some pictures and share them via an Article for others!
Keywords: Wheel Wax wheel cleaner protector

 

Author
bet
Porsche Activist

Registered: August 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 384
Review Date: Wed October 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 
Pros: decent cleaning properties
Cons: offfers nothing over other products like Zaino and/or Rejex
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
Wheel Wax has decent cleaning properties to it, however these same type of cleaning aspects can be found in other wheel cleaners for less money. I did not find the product to repel brake dust and/or make cleaning the wheels any easier than any other type of product like Zaino or Rejex. A waste of money if you already have Zaino, rejex, Klasse, etc. that can be applied to clean wheels to help future cleaning.

------------------------------
Brian

2006 Cayman S
2005 Cayenne Turbo
This user is offline
K-Man S

Admin & Founder

Registered: August 2005
Location: Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Posts: 30520
Review Date: Mon October 23, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 7 
Pros: Easy to apply, Helps makes wheels easier to clean
Cons: Doesn't prevent dirt build up. Needs to be re-applied
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
Read the main article for my views. In the long term I've found that Wheel Wax or Zaino either one does a decent job of helping to make the wheels easier to clean but no product is going to prevent wheels from getting dirty. It is a fact of life that you will need to re-apply to help keep your wheels looking their best.

------------------------------

My Garage | My Gallery | My Articles | My Blog

K-Man S
This user is online
Irish
Porsche Chatter

Registered: April 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 43
Review Date: Tue October 31, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
Wonderfully written and photo'ed.. Thanks K-Man

------------------------------
Am Patrick Maharg chnged to Irish w K-man's help,
on 2-23-07
This user is offline
MG987S
PCA Member

Registered: December 2006
Location: Central Calif
Posts: 18
Review Date: Sat December 30, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
Wouldn't regular automotive wax do the same job?
This user is offline
FirstCayman

Member of Northeast Group

Registered: March 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 309
Review Date: Tue March 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
great job thanks for the product reccomendations

------------------------------
2012 Cayman S Basalt Black, PASM
This user is offline
sean01

Porsche Chatter

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 14
Review Date: Wed June 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
I tired wheel wax. It may be a bit pricey but it works. The wheels look great.


Good article
This user is offline
Page:  1 · 2 · 3


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.