Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    I-Man's Avatar
    I-Man is offline Porsche Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    238
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ChimpanZed

    Need a pre-purchase inspection in Birmingham, AL

    Hey all,

    I'm giving some thought to a car that is a flight away from me. I'm hoping that one of you can recommend a good pre-purchase inspection service (preferably mobile) in the Birmingham, AL area.

    Any help is much appreciated!
    2006 Cayman S, Mods: LED Spars with radiator guards, clear side markers, Joe Gibbs Driven DT40 5W-40, LN Engineering spin-on filter adapter with WIX 51042

    Ich liebe es, wenn ein Plan funktioniert!


  2. #2
    DMN987S's Avatar
    DMN987S is online now Boxster Enthusiast
    1,000 post club
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    1,554
    Images
    70
    Downloads
    37
    Uploads
    1
    My Classifieds

    Re: Need a pre-purchase inspection in Birmingham, AL

    Quote Originally Posted by I-Man View Post
    Hey all,

    I'm giving some thought to a car that is a flight away from me. I'm hoping that one of you can recommend a good pre-purchase inspection service (preferably mobile) in the Birmingham, AL area.

    Any help is much appreciated!
    I'm not familiar with any mobile services in the area. I would check with one of these:
    Tom Williams Porsche (local Dealer) 866-939-1228 (service)
    Momentum Motorworks (Independent Shop) 205-403-4626

    If they can't do the inspection, I'm sure they can recommend someone.
    Last edited by DMN987S; 06-13-2011 at 05:01 PM.

  3. #3
    jpccarguy's Avatar
    jpccarguy is offline Site Upgrade Donor
    1,000 post club
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,136
    Images
    5
    Downloads
    43
    Uploads
    0
    My Classifieds

    Re: Need a pre-purchase inspection in Birmingham, AL

    If you're a PCA member, or know of someone in the B'ham area, contact them and find out the contact for a good independent garage. The Alabama Region PCA contact link is:

    Club Contacts

    Make sure the PPI includes putting the car on a lift.

    Good luck.

    John

  4. #4
    ronaldvetteron's Avatar
    ronaldvetteron is offline Site Donor
    1,000 post club
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,388
    Downloads
    4
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Need a pre-purchase inspection in Birmingham, AL

    I live in the Birmingham area and always use Tom Williams. I will be interested in what you find out about an independetn garage. A friend of mine here has a 928 and uses one in Atlanta as he had not found one here that he liked. Could be he just did not search that well.

  5. #5
    Alroad431's Avatar
    Alroad431 is offline Porsche Prophet
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    74
    Downloads
    11
    Uploads
    0
    My Classifieds

    Re: Need a pre-purchase inspection in Birmingham, AL

    I-Man,

    Is the car in Birmingham or in the Birmingham area? I agree with DMN987S that Tom Williams Porsche or Momentum could do the PPI if it's in Birmingham. There's a reputable/knowledgeable "indie" in Anniston, i.e., Southern Star Motor Company, who could do it for you - justs depends on where the car is physically located. Good luck.

  6. #6
    I-Man's Avatar
    I-Man is offline Porsche Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    238
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ChimpanZed

    Re: Need a pre-purchase inspection in Birmingham, AL

    Many thanks for the replies. I talked to the service department at Tom Williams Porsche who said they'd do a PPI for $250. That price included a DME report.

    After some additional research, however, I'm probably going to pass on the car in question. Hopefully this thread will help somebody else out.

    Thanks again!
    2006 Cayman S, Mods: LED Spars with radiator guards, clear side markers, Joe Gibbs Driven DT40 5W-40, LN Engineering spin-on filter adapter with WIX 51042

    Ich liebe es, wenn ein Plan funktioniert!

  7. #7
    bah212's Avatar
    bah212 is offline Porsche Chatter
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City - UES
    Posts
    30
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Need a pre-purchase inspection in Birmingham, AL

    I was very satisfied with Eurasian Auto Service on 4th Ave S the one time I was there for an oil change & service indicator reset, while I waited. The owner is an original member of the local PCA chapter.
    Also happy with Tom Williams Porsche for regular scheduled maintenance.
    On the other hand, I did not have a good experience with Momentum.

LinkBacks (?)


Similar Threads

  1. CPO and need for pre purchase inspection
    By Charcot in forum Porsche Sales & Leasing
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-03-2011, 08:14 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-19-2007, 02:07 AM
  3. Pre-Purchase Inspection Near Burbank, CA?
    By kineda in forum U.S. West Region
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2007, 03:20 PM
  4. Pre-Purchase Inspection Near Burbank, CA?
    By kineda in forum U.S. West Region
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-04-2007, 08:35 PM
  5. Pre Purchase Inspection Necessary? *Need quick advice*
    By hozer in forum Porsche Sales & Leasing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-09-2007, 09:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •