Assemble 718 Reviews Here - Page 24
Page 24 of 24 FirstFirst ... 14222324
Results 461 to 470 of 470

Thread: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

  1. #461
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,573
    Likes (Given)
    570
    Likes (Received)
    688
    Downloads
    4
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    I have owned an 08 Cayman S, 2012 Cayman R, 2014 Cayman, 2016 Cayman and now recently took delivery of a 2019 Cayman. I can say that, hands down, the 718 is the version that accelerates most smoothly with little to no 'flat spots'' felt under acceleration. I took a look at some of the numbers and the research supported the seat of the pants feel. The 718 2.0L develops 7 Lb/Ft more torque than a 981 3.4L and does so at approximately 2500 RPM lower point. And, interestingly, I rarely see more than 8-9 pounds of boost when doing so. Often, as another shared, I show 0-1 lb of boost.

  2. Remove Advertisements
     

  3. #462
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    CALIFORNIA
    Posts
    378
    Likes (Given)
    62
    Likes (Received)
    92
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    Comparison test with the new Supra.

    "I wouldn’t have a go at you at all, if, having weighed them up, you came down Supra-side. But we really care about driving, don’t we? Not just handling, but mechanical interaction, and it’s that nuance and depth, the long-term satisfaction of owning such a beautifully honed car, the engineering expertise (excuse the engine) that shines through every time you start moving in it, that gives the Cayman the edge."

    https://www.topgear.com/car-news/rev...che-cayman?amp
    Last edited by JPHB; 06-11-2019 at 03:05 PM.
    2006, 987 S, Guards Red, 135K Miles to
    2018, 982, Miami Blue, ...
    2012 Cayenne S, Black

  4. #463
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    4,700
    Likes (Given)
    2116
    Likes (Received)
    2211
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Quote Originally Posted by gcurnew View Post
    With few exceptions, those that were vocal and critical of the 718 at launch haven't changed their position. On the other hand, the camp that sees the 718s as brilliant kit gets larger every day.
    I sincerely hope that anyone with a 718 never takes the opportunity to drive a 981 GTS.

    Porsche dropped off a 718 Boxster GTS for me yesterday to use as a loaner. I took it out last night and, as expected, it is a FANTASTIC car! That said... my opinion of it is pretty much the same as it was after I drove the base and S models a few years back when they launched. The sound isn't bad, but it's not good either. It's just noise.

    The 981 GTS would make me grin every time I downshifted. Running it up through the revs was joyful. It's still the best sounding car I've ever driven.

    This one just isn't. It's not bad. It's just nothing special. And that makes me sad.

    If I win the lottery, I'll either hunt down and buy my old car back, or be hoping and praying that they put a 6 cylinder NA engine in the upcoming Boxster Spyder.


    991.2 GT3, Guards Red, Satin Platinum Wheels, Manual
    BGTS, Guards Red, Black/Luxor Interior, Satin Platinum Wheels (SOLD)

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Planet-9.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #464
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    43
    Likes (Given)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    21
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    I have both a 987 BS and a 718 CGTS. I've had the 987 for about 13 years and going on my second year with the 718. They are two very different cars.

    I think the 987 is more fun to listen to and the revs make you want to stay in gear longer while you listen to it sing song as it revs up and down. On the other hand, the 718 seems a little bit of a muscle car. A bit unrefined but can be ferocious. Shifting gears is about power delivery and not sound. I am not usually a fan of Chris Harris' reviews but a while back I think he said the 718 was a bit of a "brute". IMO, he hit the nail on the head with that. He preferred the more refined nature of the 981/flat 6. I, personally, like the brute. I never had any desire to take my 987 to AutoX or HPDE but the 718 goes all the time now.

    The tires on my 987 lasted ten years ( OK..they aged out but were still fine for my delicate driving, LOL) but I went through a set of tires and brakes with the 718 in less than a year.

    I'm keeping both as long as I have garage space and nothing I want more comes along.

  7. #465
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    58
    Likes (Given)
    28
    Likes (Received)
    20
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Quote Originally Posted by Wild Weasel View Post
    I sincerely hope that anyone with a 718 never takes the opportunity to drive a 981 GTS.
    As a new 718 CGTS owner I will heed your advice. But honestly, I like low end torque. That's something my V8 Audi S5 does not have. I was so crest-fallen after losing a stop light drag to a BMW X5 M, that I almost sold it. I could have consoled myself that I could have "taken" him if it were 60-100 because of aerodynmaics. But I am a realist.

    Although I don't plan on drag racing my CGTS or think that I can whoop up on Mustangs in a straight line, I also don't want to back away from cars because I have no torque. This from someone who really cares about sound.

  8. #466
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    4,700
    Likes (Given)
    2116
    Likes (Received)
    2211
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Quote Originally Posted by chester43 View Post
    As a new 718 CGTS owner I will heed your advice. But honestly, I like low end torque. That's something my V8 Audi S5 does not have. I was so crest-fallen after losing a stop light drag to a BMW X5 M, that I almost sold it. I could have consoled myself that I could have "taken" him if it were 60-100 because of aerodynmaics. But I am a realist.

    Although I don't plan on drag racing my CGTS or think that I can whoop up on Mustangs in a straight line, I also don't want to back away from cars because I have no torque. This from someone who really cares about sound.
    The old one had plenty of low end torque though. Probably more than the new ones have for everyday driving when you're not in boost. That was the biggest thing I noticed a couple years ago when driving a manual base model 718. I stalled it once when getting going. If you're not hooning it, and just driving like a civilized person, there's way less torque from the 4-banger without boost (obviously) and it's very noticeable when getting moving from a stop. Now, once you know that, it's easy enough to give a little more throttle to compensate so ultimately it doesn't matter, but it's definitely a thing that's noticeably different.

    Now... I was hooning around in the GTS again last night and again, I can't stress enough how much fun it is to drive. I've had way more fun with it in the past couple evenings than I've had in my GT3 on the street in quite a while. The whole platform is just perfect for everyday driving and some spirited fun when the opportunity presents itself.

    Curiously, now that I've had one for a few days I've actually noticed more of the differences from the 981. I hadn't really noticed just how many changes they made. I mean... the whole front end is different. It seemed to me they just put different bumpers on and stuff but it's far more extensive. I hadn't noticed the sharp creases on the front fenders before and the shape of the trunk opening is quite a bit different.

    I think the trunk opening is actually smaller and less convenient than the old one, but that's being pretty nit-picky. Then again, I DID pack mine to the gills once for a weekend trip and got a folded up dog crate in the trunk. I'm not sure the new one would take that. I suspect cargo capacity is pretty low on the list of features people are looking for though and the Boxster is still ridiculously capable in that respect.


    991.2 GT3, Guards Red, Satin Platinum Wheels, Manual
    BGTS, Guards Red, Black/Luxor Interior, Satin Platinum Wheels (SOLD)

  9. #467
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    58
    Likes (Given)
    28
    Likes (Received)
    20
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Quote Originally Posted by Wild Weasel View Post
    Now... I was hooning around in the GTS again last night and again, I can't stress enough how much fun it is to drive. I've had way more fun with it in the past couple evenings than I've had in my GT3 on the street in quite a while. The whole platform is just perfect for everyday driving and some spirited fun when the opportunity presents itself.
    Keep on Hooning! Glad I'm not alone! Yes, you can catch a 718 flat footed if you are not careful- but my CGTS has less lag and more instantaneous power than any of my previous turbo cars.

  10. #468
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    4,700
    Likes (Given)
    2116
    Likes (Received)
    2211
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Quote Originally Posted by chester43 View Post
    Keep on Hooning! Glad I'm not alone! Yes, you can catch a 718 flat footed if you are not careful- but my CGTS has less lag and more instantaneous power than any of my previous turbo cars.
    I actually forgot about the little dial on the steering wheel to pick the modes until yesterday. As I was cruising along and thinking about the options... and how there aren't many... I realized that it had the Sport Chrono clock... and therefore had Sport Chrono... and Sport+... but no switch.

    So... remembering the dial, which I still think is silly, I got to play with it the rest of the evening in Sport+ mode which seems to liven it up a bit. On my car, all it really did was change the sound a little and turn on rev-matching. On this one, it puts the PDK into yobbo mode but it also seems to sharpen up the throttle or something. That may just be a side-effect of the PDK keeping the RPM's up but it was a welcome difference.

    It may also let you hang the tail out a bit more, but that may have just been the wet roads. Not really sure there.


    991.2 GT3, Guards Red, Satin Platinum Wheels, Manual
    BGTS, Guards Red, Black/Luxor Interior, Satin Platinum Wheels (SOLD)

  11. #469
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    100
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    26
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wild Weasel View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by chester43 View Post
    Keep on Hooning! Glad I'm not alone! Yes, you can catch a 718 flat footed if you are not careful- but my CGTS has less lag and more instantaneous power than any of my previous turbo cars.
    ......
    So... remembering the dial, which I still think is silly, I got to play with it the rest of the evening in Sport+ mode which seems to liven it up a bit. On my car, all it really did was change the sound a little and turn on rev-matching. On this one, it puts the PDK into yobbo mode but it also seems to sharpen up the throttle or something. That may just be a side-effect of the PDK keeping the RPM's up but it was a welcome difference.
    I have a 6-speed and I love the dial. Sport & Sport+ definitely affect throttle response, sharpening it up nicely.

  12. #470
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    49
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    15
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Quote Originally Posted by Wild Weasel View Post
    It may also let you hang the tail out a bit more, but that may have just been the wet roads. Not really sure there.
    According to the owners' manual, the Sport Chrono modes are independent of the PSM.

    Assemble 718 Reviews Here-2017_718_boxster_pg232_cht-jpg

  13. Remove Advertisements
     

Page 24 of 24 FirstFirst ... 14222324

Similar Threads

  1. Any 718 OWNERS here?
    By K-Man S in forum 718 Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2016, 08:43 AM
  2. Here is the Official 718 Boxster
    By tonester in forum News Items
    Replies: 557
    Last Post: 05-21-2016, 04:40 PM
  3. 2017 Porsche 718 Cayman: Here It Is - RoadandTrack.com
    By RSS_feed_bot in forum Google News
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2016, 08:29 AM
  4. Here is the Official 718 Boxster
    By tonester in forum 718 Chat
    Replies: 91
    Last Post: 01-27-2016, 03:53 PM
  5. here's another one: My 1999 Mile REVIEW Cayman S
    By Speed Racer S in forum 987 Cayman and Boxster Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-20-2006, 08:48 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •