Assemble 718 Reviews Here
Page 1 of 24 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 470

Thread: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Overland Park, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    34,324
    Likes (Given)
    1773
    Likes (Received)
    3207
    Images
    5472
    Downloads
    274
    Uploads
    128
    Blog Entries
    14
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: KenDude

    Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    718Forum.com - The Largest Porsche 718 Boxster/Cayman Forum And Community!


    Please assemble any 718 reviews that you find here in this topic thread please. That way in the future there will be a single place people can go to find links to all sorts of reading and reviews on the 718. Thanks in advance for your support and to get the ball rolling I will post a link to a 718 Review:


    https://www.planet-9.com/718-chat/148...-cayman-s.html
    My Garage | My Gallery | My Articles | My Blog | My Classifieds
    K-Man S
    Save on a new Tesla using my code: http://ts.la/ken5051

  2. Remove Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    258
    Likes (Given)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    92
    Images
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,014
    Likes (Given)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    138
    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    2015 e89 Z4 Mineral Grey, O.Z. Ultraleggera and PSS.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Planet-9.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    manchester, NH
    Posts
    2,435
    Likes (Given)
    791
    Likes (Received)
    849
    Images
    32
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Here is another one. I read it with dismay. Not really positive at all. They also didn't care for the turbo six in the 911.

    Porsche 718 Cayman driven: still one of the greats?

    And the C&D review. 2017 Porsche 718 Cayman S First Drive ? Review ? Car and Driver
    Last edited by Anand; 07-13-2016 at 05:20 AM.
    2018 911 C4S, MT, Night Blue with chalk interior and some goodies...

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    258
    Likes (Given)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    92
    Images
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    258
    Likes (Given)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    92
    Images
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here


  9. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    258
    Likes (Given)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    92
    Images
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    737
    Likes (Given)
    148
    Likes (Received)
    343
    Images
    9
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Autocar video review 718S - Cayman
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EPlK0ULHHk4

    Carfection review - 718S - Cayman
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iH_T1ZxnuTI
    Last edited by RandR; 07-15-2016 at 11:33 PM.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    105
    Likes (Given)
    25
    Likes (Received)
    49
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here






  12. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    258
    Likes (Given)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    92
    Images
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    258
    Likes (Given)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    92
    Images
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    2017 Porsche 718 Cayman First Drive ? Review ? Car and Driver

    Interesting conclusion: "While we mourn the passing of the six-cylinder engine, we acknowledge that the regular 718 Cayman offers generous compensation with its extra performance; it feels like a more sizable upgrade than the new Cayman S does over its predecessor. While U.S. Cayman buyers have tended to presume that the S is better, with the majority previously going for either it or the GTS, the basic car now feels close enough on everything except on-track performance to make us doubt the value of the S’s $12,400 hit to the wallet. This feels like the smarter choice."

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,502
    Likes (Given)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    20
    Images
    12
    Downloads
    24
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    The first white 718 CS I've seen, oh my its a thing of beauty! also a sensible option to have the badge painted in black.

    Quote Originally Posted by asolare View Post
    2017 Porsche 718 Cayman First Drive ? Review ? Car and Driver

    Interesting conclusion: "While we mourn the passing of the six-cylinder engine, we acknowledge that the regular 718 Cayman offers generous compensation with its extra performance; it feels like a more sizable upgrade than the new Cayman S does over its predecessor. While U.S. Cayman buyers have tended to presume that the S is better, with the majority previously going for either it or the GTS, the basic car now feels close enough on everything except on-track performance to make us doubt the value of the S’s $12,400 hit to the wallet. This feels like the smarter choice."
    Awaiting 718 GTS
    987.2 Cayman S - Sold
    BMW 135i Coupe N55
    BMW X3 30d LCI

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    68
    Likes (Given)
    53
    Likes (Received)
    19
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here


  16. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    105
    Likes (Given)
    25
    Likes (Received)
    49
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    This is an interesting quote from the article:

    You might fairly wonder why Porsche is taking such dramatic measures and risking so much to improve fuel economy (and, make no mistake, it's all about fuel economy) in a $60,000 sports car that's already rated at 32 mpg on the highway. The answer hides in the weeds of Federal fuel economy regulations. New CAFE requirements make few exceptions for sports cars or luxury cars. They do, however, take into account a car's size. As in, smaller cars face a higher standard.

    Low-volume sports cars don't cause too many headaches in massive companies like GM or Toyota, which sell millions of more efficient cars and crossovers. But Porsche is hitched to Volkswagen. Even before dieselgate, Volkswagen was selling too few Golfs, Jettas, and Passats in the United States to offset Porsche the way that, say, the Prius and Corolla offset the Lexus RCF. (And don't forget Audi, Bentley, and Lamborghini also contribute to VW's CAFE number). So, Porsche has to carry much of its own weight.

    It's no wonder that when the EPA sought automakers' comments prior to passing the tougher new standards, Porsche responded—to an official regulatory document, no less—with a hissy fit:

    "While we do not believe that it is the intent of EPA/DOT to make Porsche the world's most fuel efficient passenger car manufacturer or to punish Porsche, this is the consequence of the footprint-based concept."



  17. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    737
    Likes (Given)
    702
    Likes (Received)
    407
    Images
    17
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Quote Originally Posted by RoninX View Post
    This is an interesting quote from the article:
    I like R&T but someone did not do their homework for that article. The downsizing was a) not at all about fuel economy, and b) Porsche doesn't give a **** about the joke that are CAFE regs. The only ones they really care about are the EU CO2 regs. It's not always about 'merica.
    2015 Boxster GTS - Anthracite Brown Metallic on Amber Orange/Agate Grey; 6-speed, PASM, PTV, 18-way seats.... and one lousy stock stereo

  18. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    1,720
    Likes (Given)
    1248
    Likes (Received)
    1072
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Anyone else getting music out of nowhere when they open this page?

  19. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    743
    Likes (Given)
    370
    Likes (Received)
    264
    Downloads
    14
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Quote Originally Posted by Noah Fect View Post
    Anyone else getting music out of nowhere when they open this page?
    Check the site discussion subforum. There is some ongoing issue with ad injection and music. Not good.

  20. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    2
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    7
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    [QUOTE=Koturban;1376401]A Four-Cylinder Porsche Boxster Is Not the Sign of the Apocalypse

    Whelp, I've definitely lost some respect for R & T. It of course sounds like a Subaru. I've driven two on test drives and it's pretty obvious, unless you've never driven a Subaru...

  21. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    68
    Likes (Given)
    53
    Likes (Received)
    19
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Quote Originally Posted by Spectre View Post
    I like R&T but someone did not do their homework for that article. The downsizing was a) not at all about fuel economy, and b) Porsche doesn't give a **** about the joke that are CAFE regs. The only ones they really care about are the EU CO2 regs. It's not always about 'merica.
    Can you cite a source where Porsche has made a response indicating such?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  22. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    737
    Likes (Given)
    702
    Likes (Received)
    407
    Images
    17
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Assemble 718 Reviews Here

    Quote Originally Posted by Koturban View Post
    Can you cite a source where Porsche has made a response indicating such?
    I can cite 2 (indirectly).

    1) User ralarcon has quick access to the quote about the real reason for the switch to flat fours in the mid engined twins. Ask him. In a word: marketing.

    2) Moderator extraordinaire chows4us can explain far better than I can the reason behind my comments on the EU regs vs the joke that is CAFE. Search his response on the matter. He'll be more than happy to tell you.

    3) the way CAFE works is on fleet averages, and the 911 outsells the mid-engined cars by nearly a factor of two. So then why is the 911 still allowed (we're talking fuel economy regs now) to have a flat six while the far smaller selling (and therefore less likely to be lead to fines) mid engined cars forced to make do with 2 less cylinders?

    4) Porsche likes to also say that a turbo flat six can't fit in the mid engined cars' engine bay, a comment long ago disproven by aftermarket companies...
    2015 Boxster GTS - Anthracite Brown Metallic on Amber Orange/Agate Grey; 6-speed, PASM, PTV, 18-way seats.... and one lousy stock stereo

  23. Remove Advertisements
     

Page 1 of 24 12311 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Any 718 OWNERS here?
    By K-Man S in forum 718 Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2016, 08:43 AM
  2. Here is the Official 718 Boxster
    By tonester in forum News Items
    Replies: 557
    Last Post: 05-21-2016, 04:40 PM
  3. 2017 Porsche 718 Cayman: Here It Is - RoadandTrack.com
    By RSS_feed_bot in forum Google News
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2016, 08:29 AM
  4. Here is the Official 718 Boxster
    By tonester in forum 718 Chat
    Replies: 91
    Last Post: 01-27-2016, 03:53 PM
  5. here's another one: My 1999 Mile REVIEW Cayman S
    By Speed Racer S in forum 987 Cayman and Boxster Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-20-2006, 08:48 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •