[Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    3
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

    Hi All,

    I found a Porsche Dealership selling a 2017 718 Boxster S NEW, with 20miles on it.

    I am wondering what happened to the car for 2 years.. They say warranty was punched July 2018. .but production date must have been late 2016

    Would you be suspicious here? Did this car just stand in the lot for 2 years?!

  2. Remove Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    474
    Likes (Given)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    99
    Downloads
    20
    Uploads
    0

    Re: [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

    Back in 2012, I bought a 2010 Boxster S new/leftover off the lot. Got an outstanding deal; couldn't pass it up. Spent over a year dealing with drive-ability related engine problems. Final result was extensive carbon buildup in the combustion chambers requiring engine disassembly to mechanically remove it.

    The only conclusion we could reach was that the gas sitting in the tank for 2 years went bad, fouling the combustion chambers and injectors.

    I would watch out for that...

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    65
    Likes (Given)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    24
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

    Where is the car located? It does seem strange for a 2017 Boxster to remain unsold for that long. Maybe the dealer held out for a high price too long. It is very common for a Lotus Evora, which I really wanted, but ended up ordering a CGTS instead.

    Gedwin's old gasoline can be an issue. On Saturday, my barely used Honda power washer would not start due to non use and gummed up fuel.

    Paint can also be an issue if the car sat out for years.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Planet-9.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    115
    Likes (Given)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    13
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Re: [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

    Along with the 2017 Boxster the OP is asking about, there is a good supply of leftover 2018's in GTS, S, and Base models. These cars have ben sitting for over 400 days. Like chester43 said fuel could be an issue as well as:

    Tires
    Battery
    Paint Correction if left outdoors for 400 days or more
    Fluids may need to be changed
    Are the brake rotors deeply pitted or rusted due to rain
    Rodent damage is a possibility
    UV damage

    I would not listen to ANY DEALER about the above items. I would contact the tire maker about 400 day old tires that have been sitting outside. Porsche about the fluids..etc. 400 days is very long time for a car to sit outdoors, especially in a nasty climate.

    Thoughts from others...

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    822
    Likes (Given)
    472
    Likes (Received)
    214
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

    The car is from a Porsche dealer and is under warranty. If the price is right I would not think twice. Have the dealer put in a can of Techron and fill the tank. Oh by the way the best answer you will get about the history of the car is to ask the dealer: what's up?

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    AR
    Posts
    285
    Likes (Given)
    46
    Likes (Received)
    138
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

    Quote Originally Posted by hans99 View Post
    Hi All,

    I found a Porsche Dealership selling a 2017 718 Boxster S NEW, with 20miles on it.

    I am wondering what happened to the car for 2 years.. They say warranty was punched July 2018. .but production date must have been late 2016

    Would you be suspicious here? Did this car just stand in the lot for 2 years?!
    3 things:

    1. The plate on the door panel will show the production month. That should be included in the pictures of the car.

    2. What is the discount being offered? It needs to be more than 20%.

    3. They need to CPO the car since the warranty was punched.

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    3
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

    Thanks guys!

    It does not look like they sell the car under CPO, which is a huge red flag for me. Especially since the warranty is already punched. Will probably avoid the car.

    @synergize
    Through which communication channels would you contact Porsche for these questions?

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    115
    Likes (Given)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    13
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Re: [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

    Try these until you get the answers you are seeking:

    How To Contact Porsche North America?
    Phone Number: Porsche North America phone number is (770) 290-3500

    Please check out the links below for additional information and how to contact us. If you have a question that isn't answered below please do not hesitate to:

    Call us at 1-800-PORSCHE (1-800-767-7243)

    Tweet us using #PorscheCares

    Send us a letter:
    Porsche Cars North America
    One Porsche Drive
    Atlanta, GA 30354

    or via the internet:

    https://contact.porsche.com/usa/dial...ion/contactus/

    Porsche is very good at getting your questions sorted out.

    Best to you.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    1,776
    Likes (Given)
    82
    Likes (Received)
    464
    Images
    1
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Re: [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

    No need to go overboard and talk to corp Porsche. You call them when you have an issue you can't work out with your dealer.

    Here's what I would ask the dealer to do in order to make the sale:

    1. Have them drain the gas from the tank.
    2. Have them do a brake fluid flush and any other maint required in 2 yrs.
    3. Have them CPO the car.
    4. If you're greedy, have then throw in a battery tender.

    Dealers won't let a car just sit in a corner and gather dust. They move their cars around on the lot to mix up the look. So the tires haven't been sitting in the same position for 2 yrs. And they will have their lot washers keep it clean, so there shouldn't be a need for paint correction. Also, the dealer can CPO any Porsche as long as it passes the CPO inspection - no question this one should pass. The reluctance of the dealer to CPO is because they have to pay Porsche $2K to get it on the CPO list. But you should counter that you've lost a yr of factory warranty by them punching the card in July 18. Factor the $2K into your negotiations.

    Have them do the 3 things I listed and then buy it. If you get a battery tender - SCORE.
    Last edited by husker boxster; 06-23-2019 at 07:02 AM.

    PCA National HPDE Instructor
    2008 Boxster S Limited Edition #005
    2008 Cayman S Sport

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    155
    Likes (Given)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    27
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Re: [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

    Quite a few Porsche dealers did this with Camans (Caymen?) after the financial crash of 2007/2008. In September 2009 I bought my 2008 Cayman S for $48k when sticker was $66k. The 4 year warranty had been punched 6 months prior. There were a bunch of Camans going for exactly $48k; they would pop up and be sold almost immediately. I bought mine sight unseen out-of-state. $1500 shipping. The dealer actually advertised 2 Caymans. I saw the listing one day in the evening and contacted the dealer the very next day; one was already sold. Yeah, they were definitely going fast — and I'm not talking about road speed!

    Here's a funny story about how my Porsche saga started... before all this my brother-in-law happened to see the same deal at his local dealer and went for a test drive. Later he contacted me and said I should go check one out because HE was going to buy one and wanted to know what I thought. I decided I liked the car and started my own search. Now the joke in the family is that I went a bit overboard in showing my approval by actually buying one myself! He bought his at almost the exact same time, so there are now two in the extended family.

    Anyway, mine had two problems. The tires were badly cracked. Local dealer discovered this when I brought the car in for first service. Didn't kill myself with a blowout and got free new tires! Yay! The other problem I blame on sitting for so long was that the battery died within 2 years of my ownership (the batteries are supposed to be good for 5). I got a replacement from dealer for free. However, that replacement battery only lasted 2 or 3 years; I wonder if I got a used replacement?

    Your situation is a bit different from mine with respect to the desirability of your car (i.e.: discount you should expect). The 2017 isn't really different from the 2019. I bought a 2008 model year in year 2009. 2009 model year had the direct-inject engine with more power, slightly upgraded exterior, and slightly upgraded interior. The 2008 was the last of the engines that had catastrophic IMSicon and RMS failures ($17k for a rebuilt engine); but to be fair, those problems were mostly fixed by the time 2008 rolled around.

    You should also consider how long you intend the own the car. If you intend to trade it in in just a few years, the age might hurt more than if you intend to keep forever. Or is it the other way around? I'm not sure!
    Last edited by SunnyvaleCA; 06-25-2019 at 09:45 PM.

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    155
    Likes (Given)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    27
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Re: [Opinion needed] 2017 Boxster S sold as NEW, is it suspicious?

    Quote Originally Posted by husker boxster View Post
    1. Have them drain the gas from the tank.
    2. Have them do a brake fluid flush and any other maint required in 2 yrs.
    3. Have them CPO the car.
    4. If you're greedy, have then throw in a battery tender.
    ...
    Have them do the 3 things I listed and then buy it. If you get a battery tender - SCORE.
    If the gas works then isn't everything OK? Would old gas actually hurt an engine? I'm asking because I really don't know.

    Doing brake fluid flush and other maintenance sounds like an excellent idea. However, I'm guessing the 2-year maintenance is pretty minimal. Oil change and visual inspection.

    The CPO idea is interesting. I'm not sure it's worth it, as the dealer is paying $2k insurance premium and your car is lower risk than average since it hasn't been driven anywhere. I'd rather the dealer certify a CPO inspection but NOT actually do the $2k insurance part. I've seen used cars at Porsche dealer that are marked as "this car passed CPO inspection and can be CPOed for $2k more" (or some such words like that).

    The battery tender seems silly. Can't you pick one up for $20 at Pep Boys or similar? Also, you have no need for one if you are going to be driving frequently. No need to complicate things. Sales department: Why is this annoying customer making us fill out one-off paperwork for a damn battery tender; maybe I'll just sell to someone else! I'd only negotiate for significant things that are related to the car sitting for 2 years and are things the dealer can do more easily than going elsewhere.

    Eh. Isn't that 4 things, not three? (Yeah, you're just keeping us on our toes.)
    Last edited by SunnyvaleCA; 06-25-2019 at 09:38 PM.

  14. Remove Advertisements
     

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •