981 GTS vs 2018 TT-RS. Has anybody driven both? Opinions requested;)
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 981 GTS vs 2018 TT-RS. Has anybody driven both? Opinions requested;)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    2,427
    Downloads
    12
    Uploads
    0

    981 GTS vs 2018 TT-RS. Has anybody driven both? Opinions requested;)

    Not sure I'll do this, but want opinions from fellow 981GTS (or S) drivers, to see if I should continue contemplating such more, or forget about it. First, the only reason I'm even considering this is my wife doesn't ride with me on my GTS anymore due to these 3 reasons:
    -Suspension (X73) too hard for her. Hip, back pain, and headache ensue in as little as an hour lately. Seats are fine, by the way.
    -Can't recline her seat enough, therefore, can't sleep on trips (bad). One of those neck things help a little, but needs more reclining.
    -Too noisy inside. I could mitigate that with DWS06 tires, which I'd do immediately if I keep the car anyway, to be able to use it more, but it wouldn't help with her.
    And my reason is I need AWD to be able to take it to the mountain cabin, and drive it more.

    Now, the TTRS I'd get would be the opposite as my GTS, meaning no 20s, no 'track package' with fixed suspension, no sport exhaust. Car comes standard with 245/35/19s, so basically the same tires as the Cayman (235/265), since it has AWD. ANd yes, I'd also get DWS06s for that one, for the mountain. The advantages are it comes with AWD, so I'd be able to automatically use it a lot more, wife or not. It'd also mean my wife could recline her seat all she wants, due to having a rear seat (cargo space is surprisingly ample, probably on par with the Cayman, especially with rear seats folded down). The suspension comes standard with magnetorheoligical shocks (the best IMO), and coupled with 19s, it should be better than my X73 in comfort, but want your comments. And finally, the issue of cabin noise. No review ever mentioned that aspect, and read them all. I'd lose seat ventilation, memory, and power steering column, and leather dash, but car feels actually more airy than the Cayman, and it's also very driver focused, being as low to the ground, great (nappa) seats, steering wheel, and cockpit devoid of even a center screen (virtual cockpit). The B&O sound system (optional, but comes with the nav package) is phenomenal on the S4, and should be very similar, but hasn't heard it yet. I could only drive a TTS, not the RS, to gauge comfort and noise. That car has 20s, but since the RS should be a bit stiffer, should be a wash with the S with 20s and RS with 19s IMO (comments welcome on that too). Surprisingly, the new I5 doesn't sound half bad, but don't know how intrusive is inside; hopefully mild with valves off. It's also a rocket, compared to the GTS, with reported 0-60 at 3.4 sec, which I wasn't expecting, but at least to make up for the deficit in chassis balance and feel, since NOTHING will ever feel like a Cayman.

    Finally, I mentioned Audi because AUdi/MB/Porsche of ALB only offered 68K for my car, and no way I'd sell it for that. Only the local AUdi offered $72K, which is the absolutely minimnum I'd take. The other car I could swap it with (and get some change) is an S4, since the S5 was much noisier, and has a translucid sunroof sunscreen. The new V6 single twin-scroll turbo is much nicer than the crappy V6 supercharged still on A6s. Waiting for local MB offer, to consider an E400 coupe, but that's it. All comments welcome.
    JC
    0 0
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    98
    Likes (Given)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0

    Re: 981 GTS vs 2018 TT-RS. Has anybody driven both? Opinions requested;)

    Feel free to ignore this as it relates to previous generation TTRS but in case there is a lack of other replies. I've just gone from a 2013 TTRS Coupe to 981 BS(and previously 987 CS):

    Suspension - I have standard 981 suspension and Magride on the TTRS found the TTRS more jarring. It got to the point where I changed the springs to try and improve this (and try also improve on the disappointing steering).
    Seats- I had the nappa leather seats vs sports plus now - TTRS seats were more supportive and comfortable and I'm currently getting lower back pain in the 981, I think that's due to lack of adjustable lumbar support compared to the TT
    Noise - As you say tire dependant, the TT was also noisy but I improved on road noise in TT with Goodyear F1's. The TT Coupe I'd say was comparable to my 987 Cayman in total noise my BS is noisier. At the time I was pleasantly surprised by how good the 5 pot sounded for a turbo.

    My TTRS was a great daily driver and from the reviews the new one has fixed some of the previous generation's vices. I HATED the steering but loved the torque and my remapped TT was substantially quicker than my 981 - plus the 4 wheel drive launch left me giggling like an idiot. I'm 10x pleased with my change however there is a lot to be said for the TTRS. What about a Cayman with PASM 18's, no sports exhaust and 18 way seats? Might be the best of both worlds (or the 718 which i drove last week which is a nice car and if you accept the TTRS's turbo engine is probably a better allrounder)
    0 0
     

  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    379
    Likes (Given)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    75
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0

    Re: 981 GTS vs 2018 TT-RS. Has anybody driven both? Opinions requested;)

    I currently have a Boxster GTS with PDK, X73 & PTV. I've owned a Cayman GTS and also currently have a 2018 TT-RS (which may get traded for a new GT3).

    The mag ride suspension on the TTRS is more forgiving than the X73. I have the low profile 20" tires on both cars. Should be even better with 19" tires. I think some 18" wheels & tires would be best of all. I prefer a sports car, so like the X73. Even in dymanic mode, the Audi is more compliant than the X73.

    The TTRS isn't as low to the ground and is easier to get in and out of. Although the Boxster GTS has entry & drive, so that is nice. Seats are comfortable in both. Driving position is quite different. I much prefer the Porsche driving position. Try a TT of some flavor first! You also sit up much higher. Last weekend I took the Boxster to get filled up and then got in the TTRS. It was almost like sitting up in an SUV.

    The TTRS cabin is pretty quiet, even with the sports exhaust. It's got an interesting sound, but it's no flat 6! Interior quality is nice, but not quite Porsche nice.

    The PDK is better and shifts faster than the S-tronic. Boxster throttle response and steering are better as is the handling. The Mk3 Audi chassis is a big improvement over the last generation TTRS, but it's still not a Cayman/Boxster. The TTRS is fast with massive torque after a slight lag.

    You could also look at the RS3. Very similar to the TTRS and about $10k less expensive. Has extra doors and seats if that matters.

    The best offer I had on my Boxster GTS (MSRP $102k) was $74k towards an R8 they really wanted to move. Porsche only offered $67,500. Your trade offers aren't bad, even better if you get sales tax credit.

    BMW and Mercedes don't make anything I'd consider, so can't help you there.

    You have to decide if you want a sports car or a sporty coupe (or sedan). If you need AWD, the TTRS isn't a bad choice. It would certainly be better for your wife. Buy her one & keep the Cayman.
    2012 Cayman R
    2012 Carrera GTS
    2014 GT3 - Moved to a MY 2015
    I shaved Schrödinger's cat with Ockham's razor.
    0 0
     

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Planet-9.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    883
    Likes (Given)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    384
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: 981 GTS vs 2018 TT-RS. Has anybody driven both? Opinions requested;)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Bill View Post
    You have to decide if you want a sports car or a sporty coupe (or sedan). If you need AWD, the TTRS isn't a bad choice. It would certainly be better for your wife. Buy her one & keep the Cayman.
    I have to agree with this 100%. I never drove TTRS so no comparison to offer. That said, I did try once to buy a car that "can do it all" and that was the biggest mistake I did in my car buying history. I have no idea what is your current vehicle fleet list, but if you already have a grocery-getter, consider using that for trips with wife and keep a proper sports car with 2 seats for when you want to drive proper sports car. My $0.02 and worth just as much, if not less

    Good luck!


    2016 981 CS Sapphire Blue | MT | PASM | PTV | PSE | Sport + seats 2 way | Sport Design wheel
    0 0
     

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    783
    Likes (Given)
    397
    Likes (Received)
    272
    Downloads
    14
    Uploads
    0

    Re: 981 GTS vs 2018 TT-RS. Has anybody driven both? Opinions requested;)

    Have you driven a Macan? Get the GTS trim and both you and your wife will be happy.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
    0 0
     

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    2,427
    Downloads
    12
    Uploads
    0

    Re: 981 GTS vs 2018 TT-RS. Has anybody driven both? Opinions requested;)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Bill View Post
    I currently have a Boxster GTS with PDK, X73 & PTV. I've owned a Cayman GTS and also currently have a 2018 TT-RS
    That was EXACTLY what I was looking for. Thanks a million for all your help via PM and here. Greatly appreciated.

    Quote Originally Posted by CinciOH View Post
    I did try once to buy a car that "can do it all" and that was the biggest mistake I did in my car buying history.
    Yeah, there's no such thing. But in my case, I fully realize nothing will drive like my CGTS, and am aware of the compromises I'm trying to juggle. I'm basically trying to minimize them, so I can drive the car a lot more, rather than staying parked in the garage most of the time. Haven't decided yet if I'll sell or not, which will largely depend on how I feel the TTS I'll drive Monday. Was thinking of other cars, like an S4, E400 coupe or E43, but with those I'd steer too far away from the sports car experience. And then the only option to trade my car is the local Audi dealer, which don't get a TTRS until at least 2 months, so the trade-in deal might not work out. My only other option would be to sell my car privately for around $78K, and then do whatever I want... but don't want to sell it without making sure I like something else enough to make the change. What I'd do to my car for sure if I keep it is to swap the awful F1s for DWS06s, so I can at least use it in winter as well. And might actually be better year-round since I like to push my car in the cool mountains, where summer tires never reach their optimal temperature anyway. Finally, an SUV would stray even farther away from a sports car than an E43 coupe, so not interested in that. Plus don't want another Porsche, since there's no dealer anywhere close. Might as well get something with local support. Thank you all for your great help.
    0 0
     

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Ma
    Posts
    200
    Likes (Given)
    151
    Likes (Received)
    78
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Spacekatgal

    Re: 981 GTS vs 2018 TT-RS. Has anybody driven both? Opinions requested;)

    I have ALWAYS loved the TT. I just got done restoring an MK1. The Gen 2 TT was a huge improvement, but I think the current one is a huge misstep. It all comes down to the cluttered UI.

    Yes, stat wise it’s a comparable car. But it doesn’t look as great as a 981. And the driver’s experience is so much less cluttered.

    If they make the next TT a driver’s car instead of a luxury sedan I’ll pick one up in a heartbeat. But the current TTRS is a hard pass in my opinion.
    0 0
     

  10. Remove Advertisements
     

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-26-2016, 07:20 PM
  2. Cayman S PDK vs Audi TT-RS
    By DrKareem in forum 987 Cayman and Boxster Comparisons
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-09-2012, 01:09 AM
  3. Cayman S Gen 2 Cayman S vs Audi TT-RS
    By Capercat in forum 987 Cayman and Boxster Comparisons
    Replies: 106
    Last Post: 10-25-2011, 08:19 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-21-2011, 08:20 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-20-2011, 08:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •