SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 45,687
Articles 491
Reviews 1,365
Views 8,853,409

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« June 2019
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
 



DSC08577.jpg
supersize














  • Pin It

Poster Info

Admin & Founder
Posts: 34,331
Registered: August 2005
Location: Overland Park, Kansas, United States

 

Das Schild Das Schild Under Hood Protector

Reviews Views Date of last review
9 71427 Sat December 31, 2011

 

Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
78% of reviewers $174.98 8.7

 

Description:
Das Schild is currently offering a group buy for Cayman Club members, details of which are available in the forum. In order to give a full explanation of the product and how to install it, I ordered from Das Schild and photographed the installation. Before someone asks - "How much does it weigh" - let me answer that I did not put it on the scale but I would be surprised if it weighed more than 5-8oz at best. There is absolutely no issue with weight with this item, it doesn't weigh down your trunk lid etc, it is very light, yet plenty sturdy!
One other concern seemed to be a gap that showed up in someone's installation photo. I did not have such a gap and I took some very detailed photos of the Das Schild and of the installation. Let's have a look at those photos shall we!
First the item arrives wrapped in plastic inside its own Schild box as shown in this photo:

I unwrapped the item and laid it out on the floor to get pictures of both sides, first a picture of the side that you will see whenever opening your hood followed by a picture of the backside.

Notice in the picture above that there are 10 pins already installed in the Das Schild that will attach to the underside of the hood. The next photo shows the backside of the item with the foam padding designed to stop any rattling between the schild and the metal hood. This foam will compress when the item is installed.

The photo above also shows the 10 pins and I decided to take a close up picture so the pins themselves could be seen in more detail. They are the kind that are easy to push in, but difficult to pull back out, the press-fit type.

Installation is incredibly easy and takes but a couple of minutes max. Simply line up the shield under the hood so that the pins line up with the grooves in the underside of the hood as shown in this next photo.

Then simply press the pins lighly into the grooves. I started at the top of the Das Schild and worked my way down pressing each pin in a little to check for alignment and once I saw that everything was fine I pressed each pin in as far as it would go, compressing the foam on the backside in the process. Here is the Das Schild fully installed. It literally took a minute or two for the whole process.

I double checked all of the pins to make sure each one was firmly seated and checked for any gaps. As you can see from this next close-up photo there are none, the Das Schild fit perfectly!

Now my hood is protected from anything in the front trunk accidentally banging up into the hood and denting it from the inside out. Since the Cayman S front hood is now aluminum (along with the 987 Boxsters) the potential for damage is greater than the old steel hoods, and those could still be dented. The Das Schild will protect your hood and is a very easy modification. Here is a final picture of it installed showing the whole hood and trunk. One of these was given out to our Rally winner at Croctoberfest 2006 Enjoy!


And yes that is a new 997 in the background next to the Jag...
Keywords: Das Schild Shield Under Hood Protector Trunk Lid

 

Author
jbreiner

Site Donor

Registered: November 2006
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 80
Review Date: Fri December 8, 2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 
Pros: installs easily and adds protection under the bonnet
Cons: Slow delivery, missing parts, very expensive for what it is and does
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
I read about it in this forum the day I took delivery of my car. I just had to have it and went on line and ordered one while still delerious with new car fever. It costs about $250 give or take depending on shipping cost. It took three weeks to ship and deliver; very long time. When it arrived there were no fasteners with the packaging. I called them and fasteners were expedited and sent and arrived three days later. Installation was easy. Communication was not a problem and their attitude was always helpful and positive. After all was said and done and I had time to contemplate the wisdom of it all, I would not put that much money in a six dollar piece of plastic again if I had it to do over. Having said that after putting 70 grand into a German, weekend go-cart that falls into about the same category; I suppose there is no room to complain about cost; so make your own decision. The product looks and performs pretty much as advertised. The downside is the price and the procurement effort involved. When you place your order politely remind them to include the fasteners.
This user is offline
rrosen

Porsche Specialist

Registered: May 2006
Location: MD
Posts: 667
Review Date: Tue December 12, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 
Pros: Does what it says, easy to install
Cons: Expensive
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
As others have said, easy to install, does what it says. But it is expensive (but I suspect the mold is expensive and the volume is not great). Cayman Club members get 10% discount if you order via the phone (not via web) and mention Cayman Club.

------------------------------
Robert
This user is offline
DaveN007

Caymaniac

Registered: October 2006
Location: California
Posts: 5658
Review Date: Thu June 14, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 
Pros: Super fast install. Fits like it was missing from the factory.
Cons: Cost. If that is the worst thing you can say...
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
I just got my Schild and installed it in 60 seconds. Know I am ready to pick up a load of rocks for the backyard remodel! (Just kidding) But I am very happy with the fit and finish. Das Schild is worth 1 GT point, by the way.

------------------------------
2007 Speed Yellow Cayman GT 2.7 (retired)
2008 Guards Red Cayman GT 3.4 (retired)
2012 Carrara White Cayman R (retired)
2015 C7 Z06 (instead of a GT4)
2017 NSX (instead of a 918)
2012 PDK Cayman R Track car (Bam! We are Back!)
"Carpe Cayman"
This user is offline
JPDarling
Site Donor

Registered: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 93
Review Date: Mon September 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 
Pros: Ease of installation / Looks
Cons: Price
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
Nice piece, something Porsche should have done.
This user is offline
DaveN007

Caymaniac

Registered: October 2006
Location: California
Posts: 5658
Review Date: Sun September 16, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 
Pros: It can be moved to another car
Cons: none
Have you installed this Product or Mod?:
I just finished popping it out of my Cayman and into my Cayman S. Use a gloved hand to gently and evenly pull out a given rivet by sliding your hand between the shield and the hood. It makes a loud noise when it pops free, but the rivets are intact and it can be installed in a second car in 10 seconds.

------------------------------
2007 Speed Yellow Cayman GT 2.7 (retired)
2008 Guards Red Cayman GT 3.4 (retired)
2012 Carrara White Cayman R (retired)
2015 C7 Z06 (instead of a GT4)
2017 NSX (instead of a 918)
2012 PDK Cayman R Track car (Bam! We are Back!)
"Carpe Cayman"
This user is offline
PGA2002

Site Donor

Registered: October 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 27
Review Date: Wed October 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 
Pros: Just like the previous folks really easy to install.
Cons:
Have you installed this Product or Mod?: Yes
Followed the instructions on the post and done in 3 minutes. Thanks for the instructions with pictures!

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Page:  1 · 2


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.