Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've got a 2008 CS that has been the bane of my existence (long story but I've just paid for about $3500 in repairs to get it drivable). After just replacing the MAF I'm finally able to drive the car for the first time this month and the engine feels great, but the transmission is a little... off? For context I have 2 Caymans (again, long story), the other is an '09 PDK and obviously the Tiptronic won't be that good, but it feels a little indecisive and at times shifts rather harshly. It never bogs down or slips a gear or misses a shift, it's just that it seems to not know what it wants to do (if that makes sense lol).

My mechanic noticed it too but didn't outright say that it needed a replacement, in other words it wasn't an obvious failure or anything scary. My question is, how should I troubleshoot and try to resolve? Is there anything I could do at home to perhaps reset or reprogram the tiptronic system, or has anyone experienced something similar and found an answer? I'd love to not pay countless thousands for a new trans as I'm trying to sell the car (due to aforementioned long story lol)
 

Attachments

·
Registered
2008 Cayman RS (my version) and non-RS 2010 GT3
Joined
·
2,013 Posts
Wouldn’t hurt to reset the ecu… who installed the MAF? Not sure if those are a calibration thing when installed as they do slightly vary over the years but doubtful on .1 cars…. Just thinking
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wouldn’t hurt to reset the ecu… who installed the MAF? Not sure if those are a calibration thing when installed as they do slightly vary over the years but doubtful on .1 cars…. Just thinking
I did the MAF myself, my mechanic had cleaned the old one but still threw P1095 and the idle/performance was wacky so I swapped it out- engine runs great now but the trans has had the same issue throughout.

As far as the ECU reset, which method do you think is best? I know some people use a OBD scanners, some disconnect the battery, etc?
 

·
Registered
2008 Cayman RS (my version) and non-RS 2010 GT3
Joined
·
2,013 Posts
Try the battery disconnect. It’s worth a shot. Then let it idle for a few minutes. I personally don’t let Porsche cars idle long but the ecu does need to relearn maybe 2-4 minutes max and go for a ride… just a normal joy ride…
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Try the battery disconnect. It’s worth a shot. Then let it idle for a few minutes. I personally don’t let Porsche cars idle long but the ecu does need to relearn maybe 2-4 minutes max and go for a ride… just a normal joy ride…
Just did the ol' reset and I have to say, I think it made a difference! Seems to shift more confidently and less often. The one thing that seems to have carried over is when cruising at slower speeds and abruptly (but not fully) pressing the accelerator it seems to shift twice and not in the smoothest way- definitely a bit of a lurch/bump. I almost wonder if it's a motor mount rather than the transmission
 

·
Registered
2008 Cayman RS (my version) and non-RS 2010 GT3
Joined
·
2,013 Posts
That was my next guess… I say keep
Driving it. Car has to regroup so to speak… have a tech or whoever look at mounts…. Glad it’s behaving better. Those tips are really well built units…. Granted it’s not brand new… but still should be ok
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,951 Posts
987, not sure where you are located, but I would get the next two tanks full of racing gas, like 97 octane if its available by a distributor. This allows the engine to use as much advance as possible with a lot more throttle. After a period of time the ECU will expect your throttle response and advance the timing just a little more. Sprint Booster is another way of improving the timing response. That electronic sensor also allows your Tiptonic to start in 1st gear. You maybe able to find a used one on line some where.
Either way, race gas or Sprint Booster, you car will perform better. By the way, it has a certain amount of pop already. You probably will sell it quickly.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
2,000 Posts
Not a bad idea there^
Indeed. I'd also suggest the transmission filter at the same time. The clutch material does contaminate the fluid, and it's the same fluid that's going through the hydraulic solenoid controlled circuits. the issues described could easily be caused by sticky solenoids.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top