Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I maxed out the camber plate play on my front suspension and figured I should make sure my I adjust my alignment (or take it to a shop), but I wanted to try myself first. But I've never done this before. I'm curious if others think my system should get a good alignment.

1. Struck a centerline down the car on the underside, which was easy to do because the underside panel appears to have a clear centerline

2. Clamped a two foot level onto my disc brake

3. Measured from the centerline perpendicular to the level.

Can anyone with any experience comment on why or why not I should be close here? I read most people align to the middle of the back tire, but it seems that could have similar accuracy issues. I did not know my starting alignment so I don't have a baseline to go off of.

·
Registered
136 Posts
There were a couple of good articles in Panorama magazines starting in the October 2019 issue (page 100) that walk through a DIY alignment process. The author uses a parallelogram made of string or fishing line around the car (suspended by 2 X 4s or similar). I think the primary difference is that in the "Panorama" version, the car is sitting on the suspension vs. your method where the car is "in the air". I imagine that could make a difference.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I though that might be the case, I was going to double check it after lowering. Just a heck of a lot easier to get to the tie rod ends with the tires off ! Thanks ya’ll

·
Registered
170 Posts
Hmm, or using a jack to compress the front spring to ride height...