Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just picked up my new/used 2006 Cayman S two days ago. I filled it up with gas today (did two days ago as well) and about 7-10 miles later the Check Engine Light came on. Shortly after that the Central Warning Light (red exclamation mark next to the CEL light) came on, and the info message said "Check Engine". Guess that was obvious.

I went to two AutoZone stores and they hooked up the CS to their OBD2 (pardon me, but I am new to Porsche and all this stuff) scanner. Both times they thought the device registered something, but when they connected the device to their computer in the store there were No Fault Codes found.

I drove by the Porsche dealer to see if they could find a code, but being Christmas eve they were already closed.

The car had a pre-purchase inspection done at a Porsche dealer, and they did find and repair a fault code, having to do with some charcoal gas vent / canister (evap). That was repaired and the car checked out with no codes.

Can anybody comment on this? Would it be possible to trigger the CEL without the car registering and storing a code? Do the AutoZone OBD2 scanners (Innova was the brand) work on a Porsche (I heard there are primary and extended codes (car specific))? Could the car be issuing a special Porsche code that is not even able to be recorded by the OBD2 scanner?

I appreciate any help and suggestions you can provide. So far my Christmas present is not feeling like a good one.

Thanks!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Make sure your gas cap is snug. If not it will trigger a check engine light.