Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2007 Cayman with 29,000 miles. I store the car each winter. I usually leave the hood partially open so if the battery goes dead, I can still open the hood. Well, I left the hood closed this time and now I have a dead battery. I tried the fuse panel jump trick and that did not work. I studied the emergency release cable online, took out my plastic fender liner and tire and the emergency release cable is not there. Now what? I don't know if there are any other options??? The only other thing I can think of is using one of those cigarette lighter chargers to generate enough charge to use the hood lever next to the seat. Is that something I should look into? Will that hurt any of the electronics? I would imagine from that point forward, I would have to get much more invasive to get at the battery. Any other suggestions? I'm getting close to being at a loss.

·
Registered
689 Posts
Cigarette lighter charger for at least a day should put enough charge into the battery to let you activate the latch. You do need to find out why the fuse box jump doesn't work. Makes me wonder if a major fuse is blown preventing power from getting through. Might not be the battery.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's definitely the battery. I agree, I need to find out why the panel doesn't work. I took every fuse out(and there were a lot of them!)to see if any were blown and they were all good. If it doesn't hurt my electronics, I probably have no choice but to try the cigarette lighter charger

·
Registered
8 Posts
Had similar issues with jumper to fuse panel. Check you are getting it earthed properly. Make sure your on bare metal i used the door steiker plate.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2 Posts