Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone tried to order a 2011 Cayman S with a paint to sample? thank you in advance...

I am going to try next week...undecided between turquoise blue and the gray of the 2010 GT3 RS

·
Premium Member
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Still waiting on the Spyder...according to the dealer they have no idea what the hold up is...I have to say I am very disappointed in the dealer and how they have changed over the years...I have been doing business with them since 1983...I figured by the time the Spyder arrives and how long it would take to do a paint to sample I would be bored with the Spyder and ready to move on ...on a paint to sample Cayman S I was thinking of Turquoise Blue or the Gray that the 2010 GT3 RS comes in and that I would get the mirrors, side intakes and front and rear grill areas painted red along with the wheels in red with the interior done in black with alcantara seat inserts, steering wheel, shifter, e-brake, door panels and headliner...lets see what happens...will keep you posted...

·
Premium Member
10,402 Posts
Another Paint To Sample color to keep in mind if you like the GT3-RS grey is Lava Grey Metallic.

This was the color used on the 997.2 Turbo they had on display at the NY Auto Show. Very similar to the GT3-RS, but with metallic flakes. The GT3-RS gray is a flat color and dare I say, primer like...

I don't have a full image of Lava Grey, but this is the best I have of it.

·
Premium Member
324 Posts
I sat in one of the grey GT3 RS's today. It just arrived at a local dealer here in Boston. Sticker was $157K. Beautiful car! However, the grey is not at all a "flat" color like primer. The contrasting red paint looks great. I suppose I could pass on my '11 CS for one of these...