Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi. I'm new to the porsche scene but recently started to take interest in some 981 and 718 for possible purchase.

I have some questions about buying CPO vehicles.

This 2015 porsche 981 GTS with pdk and 20km on it is currently listed as CAD $86900 (US $66343).

https://finder.porsche.com/ca/en_CA/Cayman-GTS-12467

The original purchase price of the car was CAD $93645 (US $71492), which means in 3 years the car has ONLY depreciated by about 9.2%. Some sites like KBB stated that cars like this usually depreciates by about 30% within 3 years. Is there a reason why this is not the case for this car? Is it because 2015 981 is the last flat 6 for cayman and that is still holding up its value?

The build sheet is attached below.

In general is this a fair price?

Thx !

Attachments

·
Registered
58 Posts
The flat 6 is available thru model year 2016 - 2017 is the first year for the 718, 4 cyl turbo. The GTS's i've looked at here in the states are in the $70k-$75k range so your price doesn't seem out of line to me. Altho the depreciation you've noted does seem low...

·
Registered
2,133 Posts
Be careful comparing US and Canadian prices. New Porsches in Canada have been and remain a relative "bargain" compared to US cars when the exchange is factored in. The table shows the current prices of Cayman's (no options) from the respective configurators. The middle column is the Canadian price expressed in USD using today's exchange rate (1.315).

[TR]
[TD]

[/TD]
[TD] Can (C$)

[/TD]
[TD] Can (USD)
[/TD]
[TD] US (USD)

[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] Base
[/TD]
[TD] $64950
[/TD]
[TD] $49392
[/TD]
[TD] $57950

[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] S
[/TD]
[TD] $79850
[/TD]
[TD] $60722
[/TD]
[TD] $70350
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD] GTS
[/TD]
[TD] $93850
[/TD]
[TD] $71369
[/TD]
[TD] $81750

[/TD]
[/TR]