Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone

I've been a long-time watcher of this forum but never decided to join due to not actually owning a Porsche, until very soon. I've decided to go for either a new Porsche Boxster GTS (PDK, some other nice options) or a new 2015/6 Porsche Boxster Spyder (some options).

My biggest issue is the transmission - it is manual. I cannot drive manual and I dont want to. I do want the Carrera S 3.8L engine and I do want the Spyder styling of the car. I can handle the manual roof (although that is another negative for me, I'd rather electric, but I can handle it). It is just the transmission I'm really urked about.

Now my question may sound stupid and I do apologise for that - this is my first time to Porsche and will be my first sports car - is it possible to order the Spyder and have Porsche install the PDK transmission? I know it is not available from the factory, but Im willing to pay for it to be done after it arrives.

I know it will require a new transmission, new wiring and probably some other bits and pieces - but can it be done? If so, does anyone have a ballpark figure (Australian dollars if possible!)?

Again I apologise if my question is random or has come out of the blue but I need to make a decision soon to place my order. I either go GTS (nice looking car) but if I could get around that manual transmission in the Spyder, I'd prefer that (better looking, the engine I want, better resale, more powerful by a decent measure).

Any response would be very helpful :)

·
Super Moderator
13,989 Posts
Welcome

Anything can be done if you have the money but IF you could find a shop who could do it, I suspect it would be extremely expensive. The PDK alone is between $14 - $18K USD. Add labor, and the nightmare for them to get it all right and warranted.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Chows4us

Thank you for the quick reply :)