Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 20 of 235 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In trying to reconcile a buy decision of the 2.7L vs. the 3.4L engine...as an engineer I've been considering the DNA of these 2 engines as a factor from a longevity perspective.

From what I currently know the 3.4L engine (A91 designation?) is used both in the 991 and the 981. In the 991 tune is produces 350hp and 325hp for the 981. So from that perspective the 3.4L in the 981 is somewhat 'detuned' and therfore not as 'tweeked'.

I know next to nothing about the 2.7L engine. Is it a relatively new engine and therfore not as 'mature' as the 3.4L? Is it only used in the base Cayman? I recall that I read in one post that it was claimed that the 2.7L is highly 'tweeked' for its displacement and therefore is this engine 'stressed' more than the 3.4L engine?

Thanks for all responses

·
PCA Member
1,951 Posts
Re: Cayman 2.7L vs 3.4L Engines

In trying to reconcile a buy decision of the 2.7L vs. the 3.4L engine...as an engineer I've been considering the DNA of these 2 engines as a factor from a longevity perspective.

From what I currently know the 3.4L engine (A91 designation?) is used both in the 991 and the 981. In the 991 tune is produces 350hp and 325hp for the 981. So from that perspective the 3.4L in the 981 is somewhat 'detuned' and therfore not as 'tweeked'.

I know next to nothing about the 2.7L engine. Is it a relatively new engine and therfore not as 'mature' as the 3.4L? Is it only used in the base Cayman? I recall that I read in one post that it was claimed that the 2.7L is highly 'tweeked' for its displacement and therefore is this engine 'stressed' more than the 3.4L engine?

Thanks for all responses

Though not practicing, I too come from an engineering background and I'll give you my opinion.

I think you're over-analyzing the engines. They're both great engines, both will hold up to whatever you throw at them and both have a niche.