Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the PCar world and still learning all I can about my 2013 BB. I have basic skills that limit me pretty much to oil, brakes, and transmission fluid changes. I changed the oil and filter a couple weeks ago thanks to the valuable resources found on Planet-9.

While under the car, I could see the drain and fill plugs for the transmission were easily accessible. I have searched for a DIY, but haven't been able to find one. I understand that I'm not at the "recommended" interval yet for a change as my BB is only 7 years old and has 41k miles. Call it piece of mind, but I'd like to change it out.

Is anyone aware of a DIY? If not, can anyone recommend a specific fluid brand / type?

·
Registered
84 Posts
Go here for a download of the workshop manual.

Page 6031.

Dead simple. Drain and fill

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Fantastic...thank you!

Any "safe" alternatives to the HDP 500 Porsche transmission oil? Or is it best to stick with OEM fluid?

·
Registered
84 Posts
Personally I would put any 75W-90 fully synthetic hypoid GL5 gear oil. It's hard to get an exact spec on the hdp500, but it would be utterly bizarre in my view if it took anything else.

·
Registered
268 Posts
I did a 986, as stated it was straightforward. The only thing I recall is needing a special socket I didn't have, I think it was a triple square if memory serves correctly.

·
Registered
211 Posts
At track events I am in the habit of chatting about various issues with professional techs who service race cars. I asked this question recently and was told, " For manuals, we ONLY use Mobil 1 synthetic 75-90 gear oil."

·
Registered
3,340 Posts