Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Caymudgeon
710 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I want to share a few pictures and words of advice after a recent incident I had at Road America.

I've been doing 3-4 DE events per year for about 10 years, with a few minor off-track excursions and a blown engine in my former 987S. Over the years, I've seen quite a few wrecked cars but never bent any metal myself until June 15 at Road America, where I lost control thru the infamous "kink". It's a high speed turn and I was probably somewhere in excess of 90mph when I started to slide a little thru the turn, went two wheels off, got back on track but continued to slide down middle of track, did a slow 360 spin, and finally went into a concrete barrier a hundred yards or so past the kink on the inside of the track. I hit the front right corner of my 2014 CS hard into the concrete barrier, probably going somewhere around 40 mph. It's a testament to the safety of these cars that I didn't really feel much other than a little blown airbag dust in my lungs. Who knew that knee airbags are a thing?

At first the damage didn't seem too bad, but later inspection by a Porsche-certified body shop revealed a lot of hidden structural damage to the front end and thus the car was totaled. Fortunately, I had purchased track insurance so my monetary loss was significantly less in totaling the car than it was when I blew the engine in my former 987.

Lessons learned:
1. Buy track insurance! I used ontrackinsurance.com. Other than the elapsed time of over 2 months to settle my claim, they handled everything extremely well. I expressed a strong preference to total the car and they were able to oblige.
2. When you buy track insurance, make sure you get the valuation right. I had my car valued appropriately and thus I received a settlement that was more than fair. If I had under-valued the car, I would have been significantly penalized in the settlement.