Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2009 Cayman S PDK
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone

The Battery gave up and had to improvise opening the frunk with a second discharged Mercedes AMG donor Battery which I had to charging it via an inventor through standard charger,

ANYWAY!

After took the dead battery out noticed the Mercedes Battery is AGM and the dead 987.2 Cayman battery is Costco Kirkland Non AGM which previous owner changed it, both had similar size and specification so I gave it a try put the Mercedes half-charged battery in and it cranked started like a brand new car!

did a bit of research and lots of stories.

my Question is :
If the AGM battery stays in the car will it damage the alternator or charging system, I know AGM and Non AGM has different charge pattern.
Car is 2009 Cayman S PDK if matters

Cheers
P.S: Apologies if this has been asked before Newbie here in the site

Attachments

·
Registered
2,416 Posts
I have been told by the "experts" who answer questions for the Porsche Club of America that the two types of batteries are interchangeable with no negative impact. I currently have a Lead Acid wet cell battery in my 2008 Cayman and will be going with the AGM at replacement time based on the just mentioned advice.

·
Registered
298 Posts
AFAIK they're completely interchangeable and using an AGM definitely won't damage the car. In my experience AGM batteries like a bit higher charging voltage and are less tolerant of deep discharge, but that's generally not an issue when using them on modern cars with good charging systems.