Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
  • NOTICE - Before adding photos to posts on Planet-9, please review: Posting Photos on Planet-9

A few questions of Porsche owners

2K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  dahon 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

Newbie here hoping to ask you guys a few questions and get your opinion.

At the end of this year I am considering purchasing a 997 911 Carrera/Carrera S or a
Cayman S. The car will be driven between 3 and 4 days a week to University and back(which is approximately 35km, a touch over 17km either way).

I'm located in country NSW. The drive can either be a mixture of 50km-80km/h suburban roads with moderate to heavy traffic during peak hour or 100km/h largely unused country roads. Now as your are probably aware country roads are rough, really rough. My neighbour had a 996T he said he drove it on the coastal roads, but didn't enjoy driving it around here. He recently sold his 996T and bought a 507 Edition C63 Coupe which he said he enjoys driving more. The harshness of country roads is one concern,the other is it's use as a daily driver.. It's more than practical enough for a uni student, books and a laptop is all I'm going to ever have it in. What concerns me is that my cousin had a 911, albeit he was in Sydney. He got sick of driving it to work every day in the city and actually preferred driving his Lexus 4WD. Also will it be reliable enough? I already know my problem, a lack of familiarity and time behind the wheel, I've never driven one.. And I'm afraid I'm even less likely to have the chance to drive one here. I've been for a drive in the 996T a couple of years ago and it's hard to remember the experience accurately, what was going through my head was: "Holy S*** this is great".