Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2015 Boxster S Manual
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anybody try these? Any opinions. I don't want to use oiled air filter. Need to replace air filters, trying to decide if go with OEM paper filter or give these dry "synthetic" filters a try?

·
Registered
12 Posts
One could purchase a lot of regular air filters for the price of those. Will still need to be washed , dried , charged and reinstalled .

·
Registered
1,659 Posts
Anybody try these? Any opinions. I don't want to use oiled air filter. Need to replace air filters, trying to decide if go with OEM paper filter or give these dry "synthetic" filters a try?

I have been using the dry ones for over 4 years now without issue. Don't do it with any performance or other expectations over stock paper, but I do it just for the convenience of being able to reuse them. I clean them once a year as part of my annual oil change and let them dry overnight before reinstalling

·
Registered
515 Posts
I've been using them for a few years. No problems. Supposed to flow a little bit better than stock. Decided on them because FVD suggests a higher flow filter in conjunction with their headers/tune to extract all available power at the top end. I didn't want an oiled filter. FVD said if the stock filter is not new condition (clean), it will loose top end HP. I figured the AFE would add intake sound and it's cleanable too. Maybe not much difference from stock, but that's what I went with.

·
Registered
596 Posts

FCP Euro buy once , and never have to buy again lifetime warranty.

Even on wear parts? What about oil filters? They'd take a beating

·
Registered
596 Posts
So what does that look like? You have to send an oily cartridge back or a photo? Also what constitutes part exhausted? My filters are changed at years end so that the car doesn't sit with moisture in the case but in reality they are far from used up.

·
Registered
1,659 Posts