Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd like some expert advice on the what I can do to increase HP my 07 Cayman base model for not a whole lot of money ($1-$2k). I'm not a professional mechanic, but am fairly mechanically inclined. Exhaust? Plenum? Headers? What first?

·
Registered
574 Posts
OEM plenum from a 3.4L is a cheap mod.

·
Registered
2 Posts
I have a 2008 2.7 Cayman - I installed an EVOMS V-Flow filter (about $350) and noticed an immediate increase in responsiveness . Later my indie shop put in an IPD plenum stock TB, and after several hard pulls the ECU adapted - more butt dyno smiles. I should add that prior to both these mods the DREAM 1 y pipe was installed - did not notice any significant improvements with that alone but I suspect it is synergistic with the other two. Once the plenum was installed the 2300 rpm drone became more prominent , I assume more gas moving through.

I have no before & after dynos so some will discount my comments , but all these are well established bolt on mods. If I had to pick one to recommend it would be the EVOMs V-flow. I'm considering an ECU flash to wrap it all together and that should do it for my 2.7 .

My Cayman gave me some huge smiles this afternoon after a beautiful ride in the Virginia foothills

good luck and enjoy!

·
Registered
574 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Careful about the exhaust choice. Fabspeed is nice but I cant stand any drone sound. It's just so annoying.
The only real alternative I have found with ZERO drone sound is the expensive Armytrix F1 Exhaust - never had a better exhaust. Also comes with a remote to open / close the valves.

Regarding tuning on a budget, I'd go for a racing plenum first and a possible ECU flash if it fits your budget.

·
Banned
3,496 Posts