Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Warning... this topic has prolly been beaten to death, but I'm new to this and didn't see many other threads. So... here goes!

Car and Driver published data sheets of their testing of the Base and S MT boxsters and I've (hopefully) attached them below. The acceleration numbers are strikingly similar. I.e.

Base 0-30: 1.5 s
S 0-30: 1.7s

Base 0-60: 4.4s
S 0-60: 4.3s

Base 0-80: 7.3s
S 0-80: 6.8s

The base is actually quicker to 30 and 40 (not shown). I realize it’s two different drivers, which may affect the numbers. But still...

The only big difference I see is “top gear” 30-50 where the base takes 9.6 to the S 7.8. Not sure who goes 30-50 in “top gear” and given the other figures I wouldn’t be surprised if the numbers were similar if a lower gear was chosen.

Also, if you look at the braking data:

Base 70-0: 145 ft
S 70-0: 144 ft

Also very close.

So, given all this, it seems like unless you are tracking your car at high speeds or going 30-50 in top gear a lot that the base model will be pretty much indistinguishable from the S.

But… I’m wondering if I'm missing something….is there something else going on? Like throttle response perhaps. Is the S more responsive but the base catches up with greater boost? Searching a bit, I did see this little snippet in Car and Driver as well:

"The engines’ variances are surprisingly subtle and only detectable at the ragged edges of the powerband." (Feb 2016)

So... is the S worth the extra $ in MT if you are not racing?

I’m hoping to try both base and S tomorrow and maybe I’ll be able to see.

What do others think?

Fliz