Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We had the BOSE in our recently departed Boxster S and now have the Burmester in our new to us C2s cab. I just spent 1260 miles in each and thought I'd share a few observations. Note that I can't comment on Burmester in a 981 or BOSE in a 991.

I'm an A-V hobbyist with a fairly sophisticated home set up. Over the years some folks smarter than I am taught me how to listen critically so I think I've earned the right to comment. I've posted a number of times here and on another forum about the BOSE sound quality in the Boxster. It is quite good if one uses good quality source material, takes the time to RTFM, and then invests in tinkering time to get the audio adjusted properly for each input. Still, with Burmester's reputation and some brief listening sessions at a couple Consumer Electronic Show visits I had high expectations. I'm also a fan of the mid-high speaker design based on the Heil Air Motion Transformer - a folded tweeter design. My observations once again assume quality source material. I use Apple Lossless Compression on an iTouch. I will probably move to USB-based streaming to avoid using the iTouch DAC.

1. I've been listening in both "direct" and surround modes depending on the content. I wish they had an adjustment for the amount of surround; it's not rocket science and many high end PrePros offer such adjustments. I find that some source material is a bit bright in surround mode and I have to back off the treble one or two ticks down from flat. In direct mode I have to kick the treble up a tick or two.
2. Bass - I had to back the bass down two ticks in any mode. The bass is tuneful, solid, and undistorted up to ear-bleed levels in the music playback. The Burmester bass is tighter and more accurate but can be overpowering on some material.