Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is the LR inside shoulder of a 235/45/18 RE 71 r with 20-25 DE sessions on it. Tread depth is uniform at 6.5/16. Camber is -2.2. The front at -1.8 looks even better.

I am moving to Nitto NT-O1s in sizes 245/40/18 and 275/40/18 and will keep the RE 71s as spares.I am trying to assess solely from a wear standpoint whether to make any alignment changes in order to achieve reasonable tire life in the Nittos. Handling is in all respects excellent.

The car is pushed hard in DE and only driven on the street occasionally to keep all sys unitems healthy--maybe 500 street miles a month during 6 months.

This seems like decent wear to me for the use history, but I am new to Pcars and would welcome comments. Can anyone "read" the wear in this tire and comment on how any alignment changes might affect that? Toe is 0 front 12 minutes rear, if I recall correctly.

·
Registered
1,248 Posts
Why would you chose Nitto's over RE71R's with the tire looking like this with 20-25 session on it plus some daily drives. If cleaned up, you could easily just say they were street driven. If you increased the width of the RE71R's to 255/35/18 f and 275/35/18 r you will easily best whatever time you develop with the Nitto's. You car was under tire sized last season from a tire footprint point of view As far as using them as backup, they do deteriorate just sitting in your garage waiting for the Natto's to fail. If you do dismount these RE71R's and re mount them, ask the tire shop to inside out the tires so the inside shoulder is now on the outside. Rotation will be the same direction.

Your camber looks like its maxed out without either camber plates or adjustable LCA's. If you have GT3 style LCA's in front, I would increase the camber to at least -2.5 and keep the rear at -2.2. The toe is fine at 0 f and toe in at 12 minutes r.

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Apex1: