Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
526 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been running max stock negative camber for a couple years now, but I'm to the point that I need to get more camber in the front to keep my tires from wearing out prematurely. One of the tracks I frequent has been resurfaced and I seem to be getting less grip and more sliding tire abrasion. The camber that has been fine up to this point, is no longer working for me. I run Nitto NT-01 tires in 245-275/40R18 sizes.

My car is a 981BS and is my daily driver, but I do about 6 weekends a year in PCA Advanced HPDE. So, I don't want to go with a fully aggressive track alignment, but probably try to get about -2.5 in the front. I know most people go with GT3-style LCA's, but I'm wondering if camber plates aren't a little more practical. The cost is about half, and it would seem camber plates would also provide some additional shock tower reinforcement while not adversely affecting caster. I know if you wanted to get even more negative camber for a full track alignment, an LCA would be the only way to go. But, this car will never be a full track car, and will always be my DD first. I have a BMW M3 racecar that serves that purpose.

If you were going with an LCA, it would seem that a Tarett cup-style LCA would be most beneficial to get away from the rubber bushings, but now you're up to almost 3x the cost of camber plates.

Does anyone have experience with both or have some suspension geometry knowledge that would be beneficial in understanding this tradeoff?

·
Registered
1,226 Posts
I do have Tarett Cup LCA's that do add more stiffness and NVH to my ride. Not sure camber plates would do all the functions as these LCA's, like adding track width, and the center puck really tightens up the forward, aft motion of the LCA's. But camber plates are a less costly solution. I ran -2.7 f and -2.5 r for a couple of years without any suspension issues.