Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody,

I've been lurking for the past year but finally decided to sign up. I know my questions probably have been asked a million times already but I wanted my own thread ;)

5 years ago I moved to Japan and been living there ever since. I've always been into cars but never got my driving license. Mostly because I could travel for free when I was a student and didn't need a car and after graduating I had a chance to immediately go to Japan where I'm living in a area where I don't need a car and car ownership here is way more expensive than what I could afford after moving.

However I'm 30 years old now, got a stable job and even though I'm not making a ton of money I'm doing alright. I got my driving license this month.

I've thought about my first car for a long time and I want to buy a Cayman. I've thought about getting a banger first but the problem is it is impossible to find a half decent manual car in Japan.

A thought about something like a Mazda Miata. You can get decent ones in Europe (where I'm from) for a couple of grand but in Japan its closer to 10 for one that isn't visually raped by some Japanese with an eye disorder. Add in a lot of additional costs such as tax, MOT, etc . (all expensive in Japan) that don't change that much whether you drive a Miata or Cayman and I decided it's better to spend my money on something I want rather than something I don't really want.

I do plan on renting a GT86 a couple of times to get more driving experience before buying a car myself. Rent is about a 100 bucks for half a day so I figured spending 1k on that over the next couple of months is better than getting a beater.

... Cayman as a first car?