Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
895 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello All,

As the title says and discovered what appears to be oil (See pix).

Since I am still learning about these engines, I was hoping a forum member might know what might be causing this seepage? Maybe a loose clamp or crack in a hose? This is right behind the driver's seat.

I have no idea when the last time the engine cover was off, but I'd guess at least a couple years as the air filter was fairly dirty (as was engine bay) for a summer only driven car.

My Cayman is an '09 with 19,700 miles.

Thank you.

Eddie

P.S. Can one use engine degreaser (spray) to clean this up? This is easy on a front engine car, but the Cayman leaves me guessing as hosing it off seems like it would gets very messy on the interior.

Attachments

·
Registered
162 Posts
It is probably some oil dripping from the clamps around the intake plenum (normal). Safest way to degrease is to tape a large garbage bag or plastic from the engine cover to the roof/hatch to shield the interior from the spray. Then you can degrease/wash and it will all run out the bottom.

·
Registered
895 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks webspoke for your reply.

I will check the clamps the next time the cover is off.

Also, the garbage back is a good idea and will look into that. Controlling the degreaser seems easier than the rise, but I thought of using a pressurized sprayer (like for pesticide) to rinse it.

I might try it and will report back.

Thanks again.

Eddie

It is probably some oil dripping from the clamps around the intake plenum (normal). Safest way to degrease is to tape a large garbage bag or plastic from the engine cover to the roof/hatch to shield the interior from the spray. Then you can degrease/wash and it will all run out the bottom.

·
Premium Member
255 Posts