Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Call them what you will: DE, HPDE, Track Event, Track Days, track whatever, it was time to take the plunge. You see, I have been doing track events since 2002 and figured to have collectively driven, on all the tracks I have been on, hundreds of laps. Two of my friends have been on my case (actually they are always on my case) for some time to just go out there and do it. Go out there and put all the good stuff I have learned to use and become an instructor. Prove that I know how to turn left (Dah!), right, brake, trail brake, throttle steer and all the other elements that a decent driver utilizes out on the twists and turns of a road course and educate folks that like me want to learn what they and their cars are capable of. It’s a daunting challenge, it’s tough enough to string lap after lap together; but to show a neophyte how to do it? This was something else.

So a couple of Saturdays ago I got up at the crack of 5AM (actually I was already awake…how many of you, anxious with the events of the coming day are awake way before the radio blares in your ear) and met my two friends to load up their race cars and head out. It’s always a bit comical, they have full on race cars on trailers, pulled by massive Ford F-250 Power-Stroke Diesels and then there is me in my Cayman S with street tires no less, we make a funny looking caravan. I usually slot myself in between them, that way they do not lose sight of me and it breaks up the monotony of truck - truck - car. We head to the track.