Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Porsche Cayman
734 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is a reasonable installation cost for a slim powered subwoofer behind passenger seat? I have been quoted from $240-$300 CAD (several shops in lower mainland, BC) excluding power cable & fuse. I thought this is too much but correct me if I am wrong.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Hi Ed. First post but I have been visiting off and on for a few years, enjoying my 987.2. A few weeks ago I updated the audio system in my Cayman and installed a subwoofer like you mentioned. My install cost was $200 for install plus $57 for the interconnects. I am in the Portland, OR area. I hopes this helps.

·
Registered
2016 Porsche Cayman
734 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Kmac. It's about the same here then if you do CAD:USD conversion. Where did they tap the output to feed input of SW, stereo receiver or speaker level from the ASK factory amp?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Mine didn't have an amp - CDR30 Base. RCA from the head unit. Cable run down the center column underneath ashtray, Sorry kind of in the wrong thread but the project is close. Signal from the new Alpine unit not OEM. The sub has high/low input,,,,work with ASK?? No idea. Mine sounds great.

·
Registered
437 Posts
I will make the recommendation that you install the sub in the trunk instead of behind the passenger seat. Or put the extra effort into getting it up under the passenger foot-well as the factory sub-woofer would have come.

Reactions: caymans417

·
Registered
437 Posts
Sorry for the delay.

There is no option for sub installation behind the seat that will not take away from passenger leg room (the seat will not be able to be retracted all the way). Even if you do not usually have a passenger it will still lead to an awkward situation.