Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The standard reply is it is expensive. Being a CPA I was curious on exactly what is the cost for HPDE events My cost is based on 5 to 6 track weekends a year. Cost includes basic do it yourself self oil changes, pad and rotor replacements, and brake flush. First cost is depreciation assuming the vehicle is used at least 75%or more for track. I would estimate between $7,000 to $10,000. Then add track fees, track insurance, gas, hotel for one night and miscellaneous is approximately $1,000 to $1,300 per event. Repair cost tires, oil, etc. plus $2,500 contingency for auto repair and other parts Adding this all up and assuming 10 laps a session 8 sessions a weekend leaves a cost of approximately $40 to $50 per lap. I read somewhere that Indy cars cost $3,000 per lap so it is all relative. I assume that a GT3 cup car would easily cost $100 per lap.

·
Registered
593 Posts
What is your depreciation cost time frame, per year? That seems pretty high, but depends a lot on the age and mileage of the vehicle. I've had my 2014 BS for 5 years, and only use it about 10% track time. Based on the current selling prices and my purchase price (I got a great deal), I would guesstimate my depreciation has been about 15K over the 4 years I've owned the car, so you could round up to $4K/year. For a 987 with several more years on it, the depreciation is probably much less, especially if you aren't putting a lot of miles on it. If you start doing a lot of track mods, those generally devalue the car in the resale market.