Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
"We do not cover bodily injury or property damage caused by an auto driven in or preparing for any racing, speed or demolition contest or stunting activity of any nature, whether or not prearranged or organized."

Technically, HPDE's aren't preparing for any race or contest. They're driver's education.

Just curious how this should be interpreted before I spend a bunch of money on track insurance.

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
Re: Is this exclusionary language? (HPDE Insurance)

I have been buying DE insurance for several years now - I figure it is just part of the cost of the weekend (which I figure is about $1,500 without any travel or hotel expenses).

Even if your regular insurance would pay the claim, chances are you are going to have to fight them for it, and then they will drop you.......

·
Registered
336 Posts

That language does not exclude HPDEs. But be sure to carfully read the entire policy. Some insurers are now excluding damage that occurs while driving on a road surface designed or intended for racing.

Personally although I am confident that my insurance policy covers DEs, I still buy the track insurance just so I don't have to worry about possibly losing my policy or having my rates go through the roof.

·
Registered
1,709 Posts

I figure it is just part of the cost of the weekend (which I figure is about $1,500 without any travel or hotel expenses).
Esses, is it really that much? That's what I've been spending all this time? I've been blindly swiping away my credit cards in pursuit of my "new addiction" (I really haven't bothered to keep tabs on how much)...

OK, time to cheapen up some more!!! :hilarious:

OP, get the track insurance. One "oops" and you'll be down, what, $30,000-50,000 (include track repairs that you'll be billed for). You can get nice discounts if you sign up for multi-event policies. Have fun.

·
Registered
379 Posts