Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So it looks like I will be acquiring some 987.2 Cayman S (II) wheels which are are 8x18 (57mm offset) and 9x18 (43mm) offset. It looks like the tire size for 987.2s was 235/40 and 265/40. Since I have a 981 Boxster S I plan to run 235/45 and 265/45 which were the factory 18" sizes on 981 wheels. I want to stay as close to the factory diameter as possible so everything runs as it should.

For reference I am an occasional DE driver in Blue, I think I'm reasonably quick but driver skill is I am working on, I'm not looking for a tire to make me faster - I just want one that will hold up and is durable and provides consistent performance.

Looking for feedback on that plan for rim/tire size and also on these tire options from TireRack.

My thought is the RE-71R which comes to $900 for the set.

Does anyone have an opinion on Potenza S-04 Pole Positions for track days?

Is there any other tire options, configurations or any other recommendations?

·
Registered
392 Posts
The Bridgestone 71R were described to me as "street legal race tires." Sounds like you really don't need them, and I would imagine they would wear out quickly. Michelin Pilot Super Sport (now the Pilot 4S) is very common, but you will have wear problems: My set lasted from mid-March until mid-May. The Pirelli P Zero PZ 74 is an idea, though the regular P-Zero may give you better life. (I've run all these tires.)

My suggestion would be to try Kumho Ecsta or Hankook Ventas. They are cheap and give good grip, though they probably won't last much longer than the others. My logic is that you can get most of your season with them and then decide if you want something more track-oriented. THAT in turn will depend mostly on your skill level and driving goals.

I've seen both on 987s and 981s at HPDEs, BTW.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3