Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
2,955 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Now that I'm officially retired, I actually have some free time. So, I'm going to do something I've always wanted to do ... take the 981 out to a Driver's Education event. I've never done one before, but everyone who has tells me it's a great experience.

I just got a notice from the North Country Region of PCA that April 17th, 18th and 19th will be the dates for a DE event at the NH International Speedway, so I'm going to book the last two days today. My insurance company will cover me because it's not a racing event, so that's good news.

Finally, I'll be able to actually push the car and see what it can do on a closed circuit. Should be fun .. I'm excited about this. :banana:

·
Registered
155 Posts
You're going to have a blast, as long as the snow is gone by then.

Reactions: Lime-Gold

·
Registered
2,955 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

·
Registered
492 Posts
If you're willing to do so, have an instructor take you out for a lap (as a passenger) if you can. Or see if you can ride along with an instructor in one like yours. It's quite a difference from a first timer pushing the car on the track -- though you'll still have a blast behind the wheel.

·
Registered
4,713 Posts
Congrats, Stan! Is this an intro course? I've signed up for one as well with my local PCA region. Mine's on April 25th, so I'll be looking forward to hearing about yours first.

Mine's an intro course that you need to do before doing any other DE events in my region. It's at a racetrack, but I don't even know if we're actually gonna drive on the track. There's no safety requirements for this. No helmet or anything. Just show up and learn.

·
Registered
134 Posts
Congrats, Stan! Is this an intro course? I've signed up for one as well with my local PCA region. Mine's on April 25th, so I'll be looking forward to hearing about yours first.