Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys I have been doing some reading of threads about break in for the first 2000 miles. My question is the sales guy told me the engine had been already run on a dyno and broken in. So I ran it through the gears to redline a couple of times. I then bought the car and read the break in part in the owners manual. Did I do any real damage to the engine running it a couple of times? Hope not as I love this car. I am learning a ton from this site and you guys are great. Thanks Jon:helpme:

·
Registered
667 Posts
Jon,

I was using all the revs after only 500 miles. I had it at a high performance driving event within 2 months of owning it (with less than 750 miles on it).

I haven't had a problem whatsoever. I now have over 75,000 miles on my car.

I think you'll be ok.

·
Registered
182 Posts
Guys I have been doing some reading of threads about break in for the first 2000 miles. My question is the sales guy told me the engine had been already run on a dyno and broken in. So I ran it through the gears to redline a couple of times. I then bought the car and read the break in part in the owners manual. Did I do any real damage to the engine running it a couple of times? Hope not as I love this car. I am learning a ton from this site and you guys are great. Thanks Jon:helpme:
YOU RUINED IT!! No worries, I'll be glad to give you $5k for 'what's left' of 'er sight unseen! :hilarious:

·
Premium Member
2,795 Posts
My question is the sales guy told me the engine had been already run on a dyno and broken in.