Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 490 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This may seem like an odd question, but I often wonder this myself.

(I'd like to note I've seen something similar discussed on Porsche forums before relating to the workplace, and how some people got downright negative reactions)

First, let's get the elephant in the room out of the way: Porsches, even older less valuable ones, are viewed by most people as status symbols and luxury goods.

The old adage "don't worry about what others think" may be applicable, but not always.

As car enthusiasts we want to share our passion and car - but I've had some negative experiences in the past with both family members and friends either making snide remarks about the car or questioning if one needs such a seemingly useless type of car. (Little do they know what motoring pleasures await!)

The second group is work - I always rather keep that separate. It seems people may assume you've hit the jackpot (yeah right!) and may interact with you differently when it comes to finances, especially if you have some power over them.

So for my recent Boxster - I decided to keep it private, literally just my wife and I know about it amongst my friends/family.

And we're talking about a car here used that doesn't cost too much more than a loaded new Honda Accord.

And I feel it has worked out much better. I'd love to tell a few select people, but you know how that goes- soon everyone knows, so I restricted it.

Is it right? I'm not sure. When I see someone with a great car- I am super excited for them and want to share in it and be happy. But not everyone is like that, especially in our rat race world where a lot of people can get caught in financial woes.

I'm going to be slightly controversial here and suggest that something as unnecessary and enjoyable as a sports car can make some uncomfortable and reflect back on their own shortcomings, or perhaps this is too harsh.