Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been driving my '09 PDK equipped Cayman for nine months now, pretty much as a daily driver. I drive in the manual mode at least 60% of the time. The thing is, I shift with the shift lever at least 99% of the time when in manual. I've noticed I really only use the buttons for down shifting in fast or emergency slow-down situations. As a matter of fact, if the car had come without the steering wheel buttons, it would suit me just fine.
It is a natural reaction, I guess, to reach for the shifter, and frankly, I feel more in control using it.
I had paddles on my Audi A3 and hated them. That right/left, up/down setup makes no sense to me. The buttons on my Cayman make more sense, but I would still prefer not to have them. The whole paddle/button thing is just gadgetry to me.
I love my PDK. With a bum left knee, not having to use a clutch is nice, and the shifts are fast, sure and spot-on.
Am I the only one to feel this way about using the shifter, and the paddle/button thing, or are there others?
Just curious. Cheers.

·
Premium Member
3,008 Posts
I think what you feel is very normal, and really only if you are driving hard or tracking do paddles or buttons (buttons less so) really make sense, but for the street why not feel like you are still in charge and have more of a "manual" input ;)

PDK is great for knowing what gear you need to be in for the situation and shifting so quickly and for not needing to heel toe for smooth downshifts, however I like that part of driving stickshift.

·
Registered
111 Posts
I sometimes use the stick to change when cruising between favourite roads. For the freeway (which I try to avoid because it's so boring) I use automatic, and also for traffic (not much around here).