Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since the generation 1 engine is not a true Porsche racing engine, as in a cup car, how long are they expected to last using them in racing conditions? I am new to this, currently in a 06 CS. I thought I would ask this question in this forum, because you guys are really using the car for racing, not just a few track days. Are there are certain number of hours that you race the engines before having to rebuild? I understand that you have done mods to the engines that a "track use" car would not have done.

Thank you for your time.

·
Registered
42 Posts
We are using the GenII Caymans which are considerably different than the "06 I think you may want to ask the guys who are running the earlier cars in the Cayman Spec Racing series. They have their own forum and I am sure they can help answer your question.

Ron

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for the information. How many racing hours do you expect to get out of the Gen 11 engines, before a rebuild?

·
Registered
42 Posts
At this point,we have a total of about 35K+/- race miles covered if you add all the mileage on the cars.......leakdown on all the engines has been perfect,no oil leaks,bearing wear,or "funny noises". The engines have been extremely reliable. So it's hard to say what we expect.....

We will just keep running like that little pink rabbit!!!

·
Crusin worlds most isolated city
3,755 Posts
Taking the gen 2 out for a full day racing on Sat which shall will see me hitting over 200kph down the main straight. Should be interesting!

·
Premium Member
161 Posts
Wow... so over 400 hours on the engines, and they are still going strong. Maybe I need to upgrade....