Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm finally able to place an order for a 2015 Boxster S and wanted to get some feedback on my choice of options. The Burmester package, though very pricey, is an absolute must for me, as I am a musician and huge audiophile. I have no prior experience on a track, so though I might like to give it try sometime, this car will likely be driven exclusively on the street. As such, I've opted out of most performance features.

Here's what I came up with (Porsche Code PFYV1B56):

• Manual Transmission
  • GT Silver Metallic
  • 20" Carrera S Wheels painted in Black Satin
  • Roadster Top in Black
  • Leather Interior in Black
  • Deletion of Model Designation
  • ParkAssist (Front and Rear) with Reversing Camera
  • Power Folding Side Mirrors
  • Convenience Package
  • Infotainment Package with Burmester® High-End Surround Sound System
  • Power Steering Plus
  • Sport Seats Plus (2-way)
  • Multifunction Steering Wheel
  • Steering Wheel Heating
  • Seat Ventilation
  • Telephone Module

There are a few specific options I'd like some feedback on, but any general comments/recommendations would be great.

My dealer is trying to push the Sport Chrono package, but that seems really overpriced and pretty pointless on a manual that probably won't ever make it to the track. Is there something I'm missing or is this just a waste of money for me?

Another thing my dealer brought up was the multifunction steering wheel on a manual. He thinks I will find myself accidentally hitting the volume knob when moving my right hand between the shifter and wheel, and advised against it. I don't see this being a real problem and tend to drive with only one hand on the wheel anyway (my right hand usually rests on the shifter), but has anyone else encountered this?