Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2009 Boxster (base), 987.2.

I am replacing the brake pads with ceramic pads, to reduce the dust.
I am a novice at this, if you have any suggestion/tips please feel free to share.

I am not replacing the rotors at this time.

I have all the tools I need, I have the replacement pads (Powerstop / Evolution).

I am using the Porsche Lift Bars and jack stands.

I have watched a few YouTube videos.

I have removed the brake pads, I had to remove the caliper to drop out the old pads.

My question is, can I reuse the "brake damper" ?
I don't mind ordering new ones, it is just unexpected from the videos I watched...so, I didn't have them ordered in advance.

The Pelican Parts video I watched showed new brake dampers being installed and a back covering was removed to allow the damper to "stick" to the pad.

I only have the passenger side front wheel off at this time.

While my wheels are off, I will be giving them a good wash on both sides. I have read there are some wheel wash/waxes to use that will help wash off brake dust. Any tips on a good brand/product to buy would be Great to know.

Last week I had four new Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S tires put on.

Thank-you in advance.

Tom
Mid-Michigan

·
Registered
130 Posts
You can definitely reuse the dampers. I still my original dampers after many brake pad changes.

I don’t pull the caliper to change pads, only when changing rotors. I use a cheap pad spreader, but a big set of slip joint pliers will also work, just make sure you protect the painted surface of the caliper.

Yes, you get a little more damping if they are adhered to the pads. I don’t glue the dampers to the pads, but you may be more sensitive to vibration than me.

For washing wheels I used Griot’s products but recently switched to Car Guys. Cleans just as well with less scrubbing. Any good quality wax will work.