Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've owned the 07 CS for 6 months and just performed my first oil/filter change. I've changed oil and filter hundreds of times over the years, so I'm not a newbie at this. But, the Porsche change is just a bit different and that's because of the filter design. Not sure I like the separate housing and filter. For me, the negative is the messiness of changing the filter. I use the plastic bag method and with a spin-on filter, it's a snap to spin it off, zip the bag and toss it. With the plastic housing, I used the same method, but then, instead of tossing the housing, had to clean it for reinstall. What I found was that I didn't get it completely clean and it was challenging to tighten - too slippery for initial hand tightening.

Now, of course, the positive aspect of this design is being able to cut open the filter and examine the pleats for debris and metal. There were a few tiny metal flakes - nothing to worry about. But, I'm not sure that aspect is enough to offset the messier aspect of removing/reinstalling the filter.

With all of that said, has anyone replaced the filter housing set-up with the spin-on filter set-up and REGRETTED it? From my perspective, I only see positives from such a change, but I'm wondering if anyone has made this change and not been happy. Thanks for the feedback.

·
Registered
659 Posts
Yes it is a pain. It reminds me of some oil burner filter housings. I have not made the change, but it would provide a better choice of filters and ease of removing and installing. I change my oil frequently so I'm not too concerned about the filter itself, but the spin on should be a plus. let's here what others have to say.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Hi WetinOregon