Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few weeks ago I had an unfortunate accident at a DE event causing substancial front end dammage. Of course the care was not covered by insurance and now I need to make the best of a bad situation and recover as much money out of the car as possible.

So my question is do I just sell it as is or do I try to part it out.
2006 Cayman S Tiptronic, PCM 2.1, Sport Chrono, Navi, Bose, <20,000 mi

Hood, both front fenders, and all radiators are totaled. Front trunk is buckled and the two frame rails that hold the front aluminum bumper are bent. I'm no expert but I think there is no fixing it, is that correct. Rest of the car looks good so I think there are a lot of parts that others might be interested in. Any idea what the car is worth either in salvage or parts.

I would appreciate any input.

·
Premium Member
3,862 Posts
Sorry to hear about your misfortune. :(

Don't know what part of the country you are in, but there are several salvage companies in different parts of the country that specialize in Porsche salvage and selling used parts - you might try to get a quote from a nearby one if possible. I think parting it out yourself would be a pretty big hassle.

Are you planning to get a repair estimate from a body shop?

·
Administrator
34,646 Posts
A few weeks ago I had an unfortunate accident at a DE event causing substancial front end dammage. Of course the care was not covered by insurance and now I need to make the best of a bad situation and recover as much money out of the car as possible.

So my question is do I just sell it as is or do I try to part it out.
2006 Cayman S Tiptronic, PCM 2.1, Sport Chrono, Navi, Bose, <20,000 mi