Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the forum and I have something I want to get an opinion/guidance on. I've never owned a Porsche but I have owned several sports cars in my lifetime; some cars include M3's, GTR's, GTO, Nismo Z, etc. Among those cars I had both manual trans and sequential gearbox. After owning two GTR's (2012 BE and 2013 Prem), I don't feel like I can go backwards in power and performance and I don't want another GTR.

It has always been a goal to one day own a Porsche, but not just any Porsche, a GT3. I had considered getting a used 997 GT3 at one point about 5 years ago, but didn't feel I was ready for that car. Then, Porsche launched the 991 GT3 and I instantly feel in love with it. I'm not technically ready to buy one today, but my goal is to get one within the next 12 months. Now, I know the 2nd gen 991 GT3 is imminent and that will potentially have an affect on the used market for the 991 GT3.1. So, here are my questions:

1. Should I buy a used GT3 or wait until I can get a new one?
2. If used, which model year? 2015 or 2016? Certified or non-certified? What's the max I should pay for one?
3. How long will it take to get acclimated to a GT3 based on the previous cars I've owned?
4. Are maintenance costs similar to a GTR or more/less expensive?
5. Any known issues with the PDK in the current GT3?

Lastly, what type of treatment can I expect from Porsche dealers' when I inquire about buying a GT3?

·
Registered
3,112 Posts
I'm new to the forum and I have something I want to get an opinion/guidance on. I've never owned a Porsche but I have owned several sports cars in my lifetime; some cars include M3's, GTR's, GTO, Nismo Z, etc. Among those cars I had both manual trans and sequential gearbox. After owning two GTR's (2012 BE and 2013 Prem), I don't feel like I can go backwards in power and performance and I don't want another GTR.