Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm heart broken tonight after learning my wife scratched the right rear panel while backing the car into the garage!
Any input as to what and how this is going to get repaired.
I think i'm going to be sick.

·
Premium Member
10,402 Posts
I'm sure she feels even worse than you right now so don't let her see you agitated!

Try using a mild polished on it like a P21s paint cleanser. Unless the paint has been removed (and it's hard to see in the photo), it could be just dirt and grime rubbed in from whatever she hit.

Good luck!

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i thought about ordering a polisher from Zaino. However I must admit I am a total novice when it comes to repairing things like this. I don't want to make it worse. Perhaps I should have the dealer look at it.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
My dealer informed me they don't do this kind of work.
Can someone recommend a good product, preferably from Zaino? The largest mark is actually the "other guys" paint. Then there are some additional grey scuff marks.
Is there some sort of kit to repair the paint damage myself?

·
Registered
239 Posts
A detail shop or body shop could give some advice.

To me, it seems like you have minimal scratching to the Cayman. I'd try some rubbing/polishing compound from an auto paint store or even a parts store and some nice, soft rags with a good helping of elbow grease. I'll bet it will be mostly good in a few minutes. I've used this technique successfully in the past - it can do wonders.

If you don't have experience with machine buffing, I'd shy away from that here. Practice that on the wife's car first! ;)

Good luck.

How long is your wife's driving privilege suspension? I'd recommend 30 days for a first offense... :hilarious:

·
Registered
205 Posts