Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been autocrossing my 981 since 2014.
I added the GT3 LCAs this fall with camber at -2.8F, -2.5R. At the next autocross, a pyrometer showed even temps across the tire width - yeah! Unfortunately my RE71-Rs had no more traction after almost two years of AX (about the same thing happened with Sport Cup 2's).

I'd like to give Hoosier A7's a shot next year (and go to -3 camber). I have no trailer or means to haul my AX wheels to our site, which is 110 highway miles away. Rain/wet is extremely unlikely but I'm concerned that the street driving will use up/heat cycle out the A7's very quickly.

Does anybody have experience/knowledge of the impact of street driving on A7s?

·
Registered
237 Posts
Aren't A7s R-comps? As in, don't drive them on the street? 40 treadwear might be awesome for a 1-mile AX but I could see your 200-mile roundtrip finishing them off in one shot.

For about $2k, you can get a hitch that goes behind the license plate and a tire trailer - would be a good investment if you want to run non-street tires.

Tom

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. I know a couple of people who drive Hoosiers to the event, though shorter street distance than I have. Others use a trailer, which just isn't an option for me.

I have looked at the hitch/trailer approach. A serious issue with that is I do course design & setup so I need to start work at 6:45, leaving home at 4:30. I'm not too excited about leaving home 45 minutes earlier so I can change wheels onsite.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Does anybody have experience/knowledge of the impact of street driving on A7s?
No experience with those tires, but for $20 a day you can rent a Uhaul pickup and for another $20 a flat bed trailer. I don't know how often you AX but that might be an option to consider.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #5