Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
SORRY FOLKS - I got a weird message when I tried to post this but apparently it worked, TWICE.

I've been autocrossing my 981 since 2014.<br>I added the GT3 LCAs this fall with camber at -2.8F, -2.5R. At the next autocross, a pyrometer showed even temps across the tire width - yeah! Unfortunately my RE71-Rs had no more traction after almost two years of AX (about the same thing happened with Sport Cup 2's).<br>
<br>
I'd like to give Hoosier A7's a shot next year (and go to -3 camber). I have no trailer or means to haul my AX wheels to our site, which is 110 highway miles away. Rain/wet is extremely unlikely but I'm concerned that the street driving will use up/heat cycle out the A7's very quickly.<br>
<br>
Does anybody have experience/knowledge of the impact of street driving on A7s?

·
Registered
810 Posts
I know a lot of people that ocassionally drive Hoosiers to an autocross, but most live just a few miles away, not 110 miles. A7 are technically road legal when brand new (4/32 tread depth), but you'll have to stop before 1/32. They are near instant death in any standing water. The tread has a lot less puncture resistance vs street tires (lightweight) and pick up nails/screws/etc a lot faster than normal street tires. They'll also pick up every piece of gravel in those 110 miles and sling it against your paint. And worst of all: it will heat-cycle your tires and they'll wear out much more quickly. (Daily driving RE-71R & RivalS heat cycles them, too, but it's much less noticeable.)

You could drive home like this in an emergency, but I wouldn't recommend it routinely. Do you have a friend with the same club that has a trailer and can carry the tires to the events for you? I'd do that occasionally for out of town events when I was still running R-comps on my Boxster S.

·
Registered
156 Posts