Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Premium Member
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Porsche Metamorphous, from 911 to 981​

Back in the good ole days, I was a sales manager for a bio-company. One of my duties was to ride with my salespeople out in the field, in their cars, calling on customers. We paid them mileage for them to use their cars, hadn’t evolved to company cars yet. One of the salesmen, we’ll call him Tom, I worked with, covered N. California out of the Bay Area. When it was his “turn in the barrel”, he’d pick me up early in the AM and we’d head out on the road. The car he drove was a 1975 Porsche 911S. I had been a passenger once in a 356, awesome, and once or twice in a 914, but had never been a passenger or driven any sort of Porsche 911 before, and I was impressed.

My sales representative had several flaws, one of which was fortuitous for me. On the bad side, he could not get his reports in on time, forgivable for a topnotch salesperson, which he, unfortunately, was not. If a Sales Rep were 125% of quota, I’d gladly do their paperwork. His other flaw and it turned out to be otherwise, he’d get sleepy on our way back to the Bay Area from a distant sales call. He’d ask me to drive. I agreed, he’d sleep and I’d drive, and here is where my romance with the air-cooled, stick shift Porsche cars began. I found myself pretending to own that car…this had to be remedied.

I had to get one of these Porsche cars, so I commenced my search. Living in the Bay Area at the time, first stop, to Carlsen Porsche in Palo Alto. They had a 71 911 E Targa. This car was fast….apparently, my insurance company agreed, they wouldn’t insure it. Then off to Porsche of Burlingame to look at a very sweet, 1973 non-sunroof, 911 T coupe. It was super low miles and very clean….I bought it. I didn’t tell my wife about it; I just drove it home. She ran out of the house as I turned in the driveway, and said the most memorable line, “Where’d you get that ***** wagon?”